Five things no one ever told me about pregnancy.

January 5, 2009 at 8:35 pm Leave a comment

  1. I didn’t know I would start snoring.  I don’t really need a pregnancy test; both of my pregnancies have been heralded by the arrival of my nocturnal noise.  Poor Brad has had to seek nightly refuge in our cold basement just to get away from me.  Yesterday I woke myself up with it.  While I come from a champion snorer (Dad) I thought I had gotten away with avoiding that gene.  Apparently, for twenty months of my life at least, that is not the case.
  2. You don’t just lose sleep after the baby comes; it really starts about nine months prior.  Between the above-mentioned snoring and the frequent night-time peeing, it’s a wonder I ever feel rested at all.
  3. Prenatal vitamins cause your hair to grow everywhere.  Ironically, this is at a time when you can’t see most of it anyway, so you just don’t give a hoot.  If I can’t reach my legs, there’s no point in shaving them, right?
  4. Choosing a name for the baby is one of the most stressful events any couple can go through.  While I have many names I like, Brad has summarily vetoed all of them.  The only semi-positive response I have received to a name suggestion thus far was, “Well, it’s not bad, but I think we can do better.”  Hmph.
  5. Feeling the baby kick and move is one of the best parts about being pregnant.  Feeling it use my bladder as a trampoline is another matter altogether.
Entry filed under: Life in general.

Product review: The PedEgg! A hairy tale

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


