What's in a name?

January 5, 2009 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

The first thing I had to do when starting this blog was choose a name.  Titles are fun to come up with; I already have about four titles of books that I want to write in my head.

I didn’t get my first choice for a blog title.  I wanted to name it “Oh, My Word!” in homage to my late grandmother.  In response to anything unbelievable, humourous, or just plain interesting, Grandma Ella would declare, “Oh, my word!”  She would alternate that saying with “Lands!” from time to time.  Unfortunately, that domain name was taken, so I had to find a different name.

Proverbs 25:11 says, “A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver.”  The side notes of my Quest study Bible explain, “…the emphasis is on an exquisite beauty, value and artistry which our speech should resemble.”  How many of us waste our time on words that are cheap or ugly?  Wouldn’t it be nice to know that all our words are aptly spoken, phrased in just the right way that they lift someone else up or make someone else see something in a way they never have before?

Beginning today, I want to examine the words that I say, to shoot for positivity over negativity and meaningful communication over idle chatter.  Most of all, I plan to listen more to those around me, so that I can realize when I am hearing “a word aptly spoken” by others.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

I'm Veronica Corningstone…and thanks for stopping by. Read this book!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


