Grammar lesson: It's vs. Its

January 23, 2009 at 11:14 pm 4 comments

english-101

I swear I was an English teacher in another life.  I enjoy reading, spelling, and proofreading other people’s work just to find the errors.  I find it appalling that there are so many professionals who cannot put together an articulate and accurately-written email.  (The advent of texts and instant messaging has exacerbated this problem, but that’s another article for another day.)

Therefore, I feel it necessary to start a regular entry on grammar, punctuation, and proper use of words.  (It’s my blog, I can do what I want.)

Today’s lesson: The use of it’s vs. its

Which of these is correct?

  • Its raining outside.
  • The cat licked it’s fur.
  • It’s easy to mix up the use of its and it’s.

If you said #3 is correct, then you are right!  If you are using it’s in place of it is, then use the apostrophe.  (It is raining outside.)  If you are using the word to describe it as belonging to something, don’t use the apostrophe.  (The fur belonged to the cat, so use its.)

When deciding which word to use, say your sentence out loud. Sometimes hearing what you’ve written spoken out loud can help you notice wrong words, missed words, or stilted phrasing.  It’s a great way to ensure that your writing is accurate and conversational.

Entry filed under: English lessons by Amy.

Funny from Luke Trimming the fat is not necessarily a bad thing.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janelle  |  January 25, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I just want you to know that I picked #3. Yes, Mrs. Ragland, I would like you to please please put a star on my paper today.

    Reply
  • 2. Big Dan  |  January 27, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    You seriously felt the need to write a blog about grammar? I think it’s time to go get a job. Clearly, Sesame Street isn’t filling your mind with enough to think about.

    Reply
    • 3. amymanatee  |  January 27, 2009 at 11:27 pm

      And I’m going to continue to write about grammar…the world needs me.

      Reply
  • 4. Tara  |  October 25, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Another one that totally gets my goat: your and you’re. Drives me CRAZY. As in, “Your a great friend.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


