I. Just. Want. To. Breathe.

February 22, 2009 at 4:50 am Leave a comment

It is 4:03 a.m. as I write this.  While most of you have been blissfully passed out for the past five or six hours, I have been lying awake since 3:00, trying desperately to get some airflow through my nasal passages.  I finally gave up and got up, since I wasn’t sleeping anyway, just lying there being miserable and praying to God for a glimmer of air to pass through my nose.

Evidently I am the world’s best example of pregnancy rhinitis, as I experienced this condition when pregnant with Alissa and am now reliving the nightmare.  This time around, I got the line on the pregnancy test, and congestion immediately followed like an unwanted present.  I have spent the past six months with at least one side of my nose clogged.  Just for kicks, every now and then both sides decide to shut down on me at the same time, suddenly and without warning.

And the congestion does not discriminate against day or night.  During the day it is annoying because it makes eating a chore.  Ever try eating and breathing through your mouth at the same time?  I feel like I’m experiencing drowning by sandwich.  As I’m getting bigger, it’s becoming harder for me to breathe anyway, and the congestion only adds to the problem.

Night is the worst time for me, though.  I’m having problems sleeping due to other factors: I can’t get comfortable, I have to pee, the baby is kicking me.  Add “trying to breathe” to the mix and I might as well never go to bed.  If I doze off with a blocked nose, I can feel the snoring start to rattle up in the back of my throat.  It wakes me up and I have to start over again.

I’ve tried everything.  I’ve been living on Sudafed for the past three weeks, which seems to help some but has to be repeated every 4-6 hours.  And when you buy Sudafed, you have to sign away the title to your house and your firstborn.  I’m fairly sure I’ve been flagged by the authorities as making meth in my kitchen.

Nasal remedies also help, albeit very temporarily.  The makers of Afrin will be glad to know that I am singlehandedly keeping their stock afloat, although the bad thing about products like Afrin is that they can cause the problem to get worse, not better, if you use it too long.  I don’t care.  I’m like a junkie looking for a hit – I can’t wait for that little spray bottle to hit my nose and impart some relief.

I’ve also recently become a fan of the Neti Pot.  If you’re not familiar with this nifty little device, it’s a plastic pot that resembles a watering can.  You fill it with warm water, add some salt solution, put the spout in one side of your nose, tilt your head, and – voila! – it runs through to the other side. It sounds nasty but it really does clear some of the gunk out, at least temporarily.  I have found that it helps put out the fire when my sinuses are itchy or I’m feeling pressure.

The only thing that is getting me through this is knowing that the congestion will go away almost at the same time that I push this baby out.  I can put up with this for less than three more months.  Knowing that this is our last planned pregnancy is also getting me through; I can do anything if I know I don’t have to go through it again.

And now, I must try to get some sleep, as I’ve just caught a blissful whiff of air through my nose.  ‘Night, all.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Alissa's first haircut A night in the life of Amy.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


