My Lenten sacrifice

February 27, 2009 at 5:39 pm 1 comment

I’m not Catholic, but I usually give something up for Lent.  I started this practice six or seven years ago, when I was working with someone who was Catholic.  She explained the basic premise of it to me: make a sacrifice for forty days as a way to remember what Christ sacrificed for us.

I liked the idea, so that first year I gave up chocolate.  I think I may have lasted for about five days.  More than once I have given up caffeine.  One year I chose to give up Diet Coke, and two days into it a coworker begged me to forget about the sacrifice and start drinking it again.  (The withdrawal must have made me a bit crabby.   I’m not sure; I couldn’t hear anything over the freakin’ pounding in my head.)

Caffeine is not an option this year, as I’ve (pretty much) gone off of it since I’ve been pregnant.  So I had to find something else to give up.  Eating out?  Nah.  We don’t eat out much, anyway, and when we do I consider it to be a much-needed break from meal-making.  Chocolate?  I haven’t been eating much of it lately, as it gives me heartburn.  (Although I’m willing to brave the heartburn to take on the box of Thin Mints in the freezer.)

No, I needed something non-food and beverage related this year.  As a result, I decided to give up playing Internet games.  I play these stupid little puzzle games that are highly addictive and the biggest time wasters in the world.  They have no point, they have no winner, and I love them.  Sometimes I play them in the mornings before Alissa gets up, sometimes at naptime, sometimes in the evenings.

I decided I could use the time playing games as productive time.  I could do my Bible devotional in the quiet mornings.  Naptime could be (and should be) used for housework and meal planning and all my housewifery duties.   (Or for my own nap, as is the case more and more as I get later in this pregnancy.)  In the evenings, I could spend time with a good book or talking with my husband or catching up on a project.

So I said goodbye to Chuzzle.  And Cubis.  And Minesweeper.  The hardest part is going to be the hours of 12:00 midnight to 6:00 a.m., when I often suffer from insomnia and seek solace in the green glow of my computer screen.  Mindless games often help my churning mind to settle and get me back to sleepy-land.

I slipped up last night and played a couple of games, but I limited myself to fifteen minutes.  And then I made myself get up and walk away.  I am hoping that if I get myself over this addiction now, it won’t hurt quite so much when I have two kids and I have no time to play.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

A night in the life of Amy. Prayer for a dysfunctional family

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michelle Swift  |  March 8, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I started out with giving up coffee, then went to caffeine, then moved on to soda. So far so good, but I am drinking so much water, I pee every five minutes! Good luck with your Lenten sacrifice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


