The bedtime debacle.

March 10, 2009 at 7:43 am 1 comment

The great experiment of March 2009 is over.  On Sunday, I decided to have Brad take off the crib railing and convert Alissa’s crib into a toddler bed.  I am getting to the point in my pregnancy where it is getting difficult to lift her in and out of the crib.  She is also going to be two in less than a month, so I thought the time might be right to switch her bed over.

So maybe the time wasn’t right.  Especially on the day after Daylight Savings Time started.  She took her first nap in the bed on Sunday afternoon, and all was fine.  Sunday night was the real test, though.  She was fine during the night and didn’t get up, but getting her to sleep that night was almost impossible.  She is going through a stage where she wants to be rocked to sleep.  This is fine as long as she’s in a crib; I can rock her for a while, then deposit her in the crib.  If she bounces back up and cries for a while, too bad – she’s not going anywhere.  This is a different story in the toddler bed.  I would rock her, and think she was asleep, and as soon as I deposited her in the toddler bed she would bounce up and cry “Rock!” and scramble out of bed.  I’d try putting her back, and putting her back, and putting her back.

Same thing last night.  It took more than an hour both nights to put her to bed, not including bath time.  Brad went to take his shower about 9:45 and came out to find me still rocking her, sitting in the glider chair sobbing.  I was tired.  My frustration level was high and my patience level low.  It had been an extremely trying day; I had gotten called out of the KidsZone at the Y after twenty minutes to come pick up my crying kid, and I’d had to repeat myself a million times.  I began to think about the fact that I am soon going to have a baby to take care of, and my daughter is becoming a very willful toddler.  It just seemed so overwhelming and I couldn’t hold back the tears.

Brad took over the rocking for a while, and I went to wash my face and brush my teeth.  Pretty soon I heard him knock on the door.  He had put Alissa down in her bed, only to be followed by her five seconds later.  It was at that moment that we decided to put the railing back on the crib.  It wasn’t worth my mental meltdown.  Right now I need some time to myself in the evenings, not only to spend time with Brad but also to decompress from a day with a stubborn 23-month-old.  After the railing was back up, I kissed her goodnight, and put Alissa in the crib.  She yelled about it for five minutes or so after I shut the door, but then got quiet.  Ahhhhh.

We will try to convert her bed again in three or four months, after the baby has been here for a couple of months and things have started to settle down around our house.  Maybe at that point she will let me reason with her about staying in her bed.  And maybe my patience level will have been restored by then.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Don't let a sense of inadequacy paralyze your purpose. I can keep a child alive. Plants are a different story.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. A place to lay your head « Blankies & Booboos  |  February 2, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    […] possibility that I’m scarred by the experience of trying to move Alissa into a toddler bed.  You can read about it here, but the nutshell version is that we tried to move Alissa to a big girl bed (the first time) at 23 […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


