For those of you keeping up with my pregnancy…

April 17, 2009 at 5:25 pm Leave a comment

My blood pressure continues to remain a problem during this pregnancy.  It has been elevated at my last four doctor’s appointments.  I did this with Alissa, too, so I’m not really surprised.  I’ve been doing some reading about, and here’s what I’ve come up with:

  • It’s called “Pregnancy Induced Hypertension” (PIH for short).
  • Basically, the problem is that your blood pressure goes up, you retain water, and protein is found in your urine.  I’ve only had the first problem.  I’m retaining some water, but not what I would consider an excessive amount.  And no traces of protein have been found in my urine during any of my doctor’s appointments.
  • Treatment includes rest, drinking lots of water, and consuming less salt and fried foods.  According to a website from the American Pregnancy Association, “If you are close to your due date, and the baby is developed enough, your health care provider will probably want to deliver your baby as soon as possible.”  (So far, my blood pressure doesn’t seem to be severe enough to warrant this.  Darn it.)

I do have a blood pressure monitor at home, so I’ll continue to monitor my BP here at home.  And I’ll try to rest as much as possible over the next couple of weeks.  Hopefully this baby will come soon and we won’t have to worry about it much longer!

Entry filed under: Life in general.

The perils of home ownership Read this book!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


