She’s here!

May 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm 1 comment

Ashley Nicole Ragland, born 5/12/2009.

Ashley Nicole, born 5/12/2009.

Last week, I promised to be more vigilant about updating my blog.  That was back when I was young and naive – before we had two children.

Ashley Nicole was born on Tuesday, May 12.  As I wrote in my previous entry, we were scheduled for an induction at 6:00 a.m.  In an ironic twist, my water broke at 5:15 a.m. that day, as I was blow drying my hair and preparing to leave the birthing center.  Guess May 12 was supposed to be the day, no matter what.

Since I wasn’t having any contractions, Dr. Halabi decided to start me on a slow pitocin drip to get things going.  They started the pitocin at 7:30.  By 9:00 I had the epidural, which I have to admit was much more tolerable this time around.  When the nurse checked me at 10:00,  Iwas dilated to a 6, so I settled in for what I thought would be a couple more hours of labor.

I started getting nauseous about 30 minutes later, so the nurse thought it might be a good idea to check me again for progress.  I was already at a 9.5!  She called my doctor and prepped me for delivery.  When Dr. Halabi arrived, she had me push once – and the baby was already crowning!  Two more big pushes and we met Ashley Nicole.

The delivery was almost so easy that Brad and I continued joking and talking the entire time.  As a result of her quick entry into the world, poor Ashley’s face was so bruised it was purple.  She was 8 lbs. 13 oz, and 21.5 inches long.  She has enormous hands and feet (Claycamp genes) and a dimpled chin (Ragland genes).

We came home early Wednesday afternoon, and we’ve been adjusting since then.  Ashley had to go back to the doctor for blood tests on both Thursday and Friday; her bilirubin levels were high, causing mild jaundice.  Friday’s test showed that her bilirubin levels are on the way down, and she is definitely looking more pink than orange this weekend.

All of us are adjusting to the new addition.  Alissa loves her little sister, and has given her a million kisses since we got home.  She has also been exhibiting small signs of jealousy.  For instance, if I’m feeding Ashley, Alissa suddenly needs juice.  If I’m holding Ashley, Alissa asks for hugs.  These are little things and I’m sure they will subside with time.

Having Brad home this week has been a blessing.  Although Ashley is sleeping fairly well (much more than her big sister did!), my sleep at night is still broken and I’m still physically tired.  Having Brad around during the day to help with chores and with the girls is fantastic.  I am not looking forward to the day when he goes back to work, but in some ways it will be nice to get back to an established (albeit new) routine during the days.

We are so lucky to have two beautiful girls, and I have felt God’s hand in my life this week.  I’m so glad to have Ashley here, and I’m looking forward to seeing what the future holds for the four of us!

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Finally! Greetings from the middle of the night.

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


