Just my two cents.

May 22, 2009 at 1:37 pm 1 comment

There has been a lot of media coverage lately on Jon & Kate Gosselin, the parents in the TLC reality show “Jon & Kate Plus 8.”  The coverage concerns the state of Jon & Kate’s marriage, specifically the charges of infidelity on Jon’s part.  Kate has taken to the media circuit to discuss matters, telling the press that they are working through things and that her first concern is protecting her children.

Ummm, maybe it’s just me, but if I was having problems in my marriage, I think the first thing I would do is NOT talk to the press about it.  Instead, my husband and I would be spending that time and energy with a marriage professional, either a pastor or a therapist.  If I wanted to protect my children from the destruction of my marriage, I most certainly would not be airing my grievances with their father in national magazines and talk shows. 

I watch this show.  I used to enjoy this show.  However, I have taken issue with the dynamics between Jon & Kate.  They bicker incessantly.  Neither of them shows much respect for the other.  What couple would want themselves portrayed on TV as such a dysfunctional “team”? 

The media is conjecturing that the troubles in their marriage have been brought about by the “unexpected” fame.  I tend to believe that this has something to do with it.   The couple doesn’t seem to be walking away from the media anytime soon, though.  Their show and their lifestyle has become much too lucrative.  But at what cost?  I say, TURN THE CAMERAS OFF AND FOCUS ON YOURSELVES FOR A WHILE.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Words that strike fear in the heart of parents Do the next thing.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michelle Swift  |  May 29, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Well said. I agree completely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


