This is why it's easier just to stay home.

July 16, 2009 at 3:23 pm Leave a comment

baby time

5:30 a.m.  Ashley wakes up hungry.  I give her a bottle.  She falls asleep two ounces in, so I put her back in bed.

6:28 a.m.  Crawl back into bed.

6:30 a.m.  Brad’s alarm goes off.  He hits snooze two or three times before turning it off.  I doze off while he gets ready.

7:02 a.m.  Brad kisses me goodbye.

7:03 a.m.  Well, I’m awake now.  Might as well get up and do something productive.

7:45 a.m.  I’ve now wasted nearly 45 minutes on Facebook. Quickly scan the Wichita Eagle online.

7:52 a.m.  Alissa is in her room chanting, “Mommeee.  Ohhhhh, mommeeeee.”  She keeps repeating it, getting louder and louder.  Dang it, I was hoping she would sleep for another hour so I could get a shower and dressed in peace.  Shouldn’t have wasted those 45 minutes on Facebook.

8:10 a.m.  Alissa is now dressed and firmly planted in front of PBS Kids with a sippy cup of milk.  I’ll hurry and take a quick shower before Ashley wakes up again.

8:25 a.m.  I managed to get a shower and brush my teeth when Ashley starts fussing.  Go in and put her pacifier in, with the hopes that I can buy twenty more minutes to put on some makeup and dry my hair.

8:26 a.m.  No dice on the pacifier.  Change Ashley’s diaper.  I bring her in and lay her in the middle of my bed so she can watch the ceiling fan go round and round.

8:30 a.m.  The ceiling fan is entertaining for only so long.  Ashley is now trying to get sustenance from her hand.  Obviously she’s not going to wait for a bottle until I get my hair dried.  At least I managed to throw some powder and mascara on.  Glamorous, I am not.

9:10 a.m.  Give Alissa a bowl of cereal.  Ashley has now had a full three ounces and is again lying in the middle of the bed.  I go to work on my hair, which is now drying in weird shapes on my head.

9:15 a.m.  She’s spit up on the sheets.  Oh, well, at least it’s Brad’s side.

9:30 a.m.  The hair was unsalvageable.  It’s now a ponytail kind of a day.  Get dressed.

9:40 a.m.  Ashley is now dressed.  Chase Alissa around the living room in a vain attempt to fix her hair.  Give up after the third lap around the coffee table.  It’s not a battle I’m willing to fight right now.

9:42 a.m.  Ashley has spit up again, this time all over herself.  Change her clothes.  Again.

9:50 a.m.  Pack the diaper bag.  And Alissa’s backpack.  Make sure I have diapers, pullups, wipes, formula, bottle, sippy cup, fruit snacks, burp rag, changes of clothes.  Fondly recall the days when I traveled with a wallet, my keys, and some lip balm.  Good times.

9:57 a.m.  I have lost my cell phone.  Search the house.  Finally find it in the pocket of yesterday’s shorts.

10:05 a.m.  I think we’re ready to go.   It is Thursday, so we are on our way to story time at the library.

10:06 a.m.  Put Ashley in her carrier.  Alissa announces she is stinky.  That figures.

10:15 a.m.  Finally have both girls in the car and we’re out the door.  I’m 3/4 of the way to the library when my stomach reminds me I forgot to feed myself this morning.  Seriously, it’s a good thing I don’t have to be at a job in the mornings.  I would have to get up at 3:30 just to get everyone out the door on time!

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Classic Far Side The Proverbs 31 Woman: Hard-working

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


