I need your help!

July 17, 2009 at 12:24 pm 2 comments

I am working on a new article for submission to a parenting magazine.  The topic of the article is this:  How do you decide how many children are right for you?

The article will focus on the following factors that come into play when making this decision:

  • Finances
  • Careers
  • Fertility issues
  • Problems with prior pregnancies and/or labor & delivery
  • Age of parents
  • Makeup of family of origin (people who grew up in families with two kids may want two kids of their own)

I am looking for men AND women to tell me what factors they considered when deciding how many kids to have.  You could be quoted in my article.

To respond, send me an email by clicking here or email me at amyragland@cox.net.  Thank you for your help!

Entry filed under: Life in general.

The Proverbs 31 Woman: Hard-working Make a great first impression with these resume basics

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle Swift  |  July 19, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Just wanted to share with you something I overheard while waiting for the New Kids on the Block concert to begin a couple of weeks ago…yes, I said New Kids on the Block. Granted I was sitting in a group of mostly 20 something ladies, but I was appalled at the perception of old to these girls. They all have children. I was the only one in the group without. I am frequently asked why I don’t have children, when I plan on having children, and whether I can have children. Most of the time I just sit in disbelief at the lack of tact most people display in asking such personal questions. Anyhow, I overheard one of the girls saying, “Oh my gosh. Can you imagine being in your thirties and just starting to have kids? That’s so old! I would just die if I were like 35 and just starting out.” Of course, the girls didn’t realize that 35 is just a short hop away for me. I will be 33 next month. Have no children. Am not pregnant. Will not be pregnant most likely by next year, thus making me 35 before the idea even seems feasible. (They didn’t realize that we are trying to adopt.) Nonetheless, I would be a new mom at 35 if I were to adopt within the next year or so. I looked over at them, smiled, and began to explain how this is what a person in there 30’s just starting a family would look like. When they realized I looked much younger than my stated age they immediately began apologizing and decided maybe 30 wasn’t so old after all. Wow, last I checked, we didn’t all get to decide when children entered our world. Too bad I’ll be over the hill (by their standards) when I start family. If you need any information on life without children…just give me a holler. I really enjoyed the article in the Wichita Eagle about “Child-Free by Choice.” I almost cut it out and posted it on my forehead just to shut people up. (Not that I never want children, but if you haven’t had them by a certain age, people think you hate all children.)

    Reply
  • 2. amymanatee  |  July 20, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Michelle, Thanks for responding with this. Although I didn’t have the experience you have had with getting pregnant, I can relate to what you have gone through. It took me a long time to find Brad, and I was almost 30 when we got married. A lot of people didn’t understand why I wasn’t married; most of them thought I was just being too picky or putting my career first, etc. I think for the most part, people just don’t put themselves in other shoes, and they think that what worked for them should work for everyone else as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


