The Proverbs 31 Woman: Financially Savvy

August 4, 2009 at 2:16 pm 3 comments

Continuing with my exploration of the Proverbs 31 woman, today I’ll take a look at the next aspect of her character.  Today’s exploration is based on Proverbs 31: 16-18, 20.

16She considers a field and buys it;
out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.

17She sets about her work vigorously,
her arms are strong for her tasks.

18She sees that her trading is profitable,
and her lamp does not go out at night.

20She opens her arms to the poor
and extends her hands to the needy.

It can be tempting to view women in the Biblical age as completely dependent upon their hands in financial matters.  Yet these verses illustrate a woman that is neither passive in business affairs nor ignorant in matters of finance.  Instead, the Proverbs woman wisely “considers a field and buys it.”  She then invests her profits from that field into another business, a vineyard.  In verse 18, she sees that her “trading is profitable.”  In other words, she’s financially savvy.

She’s also charitable.  Because she is good with her money, the Proverbs 31 woman has funds available to help the poor and the needy.  She isn’t stingy, and shares what she has with those that need it.

money-300x300I manage the finances in my household.  Brad makes the money and I pay the bills.  I update Microsoft Money each month with a record of our expenditures.  I set a budget and keep an eye on our expenses to make sure we’re mostly adhering to it.  This isn’t because I’m better with money than he is; in fact, in our relationship, Brad is the saver and I am most definitely the spender.  However, if I am directly managing our money, I am more likely to think before I spend because I know exactly how much is going out and to whom it is going.

Don’t get me wrong – Brad is also good at spending money.  However, he tends to buy more big ticket items – a new TV, sound system, etc. – whereas I’m more likely to fritter money away on a series of small (sometimes stupid) purchases.  Brad will hoard any extra money that comes his way until he has enough to buy the item that he wants.  My money burns a hole in my pocket and I must. spend. right. away.

I am working on it, though, mostly because I’ve been forced to get better about it over the past two years.  We used to be a dual-income, no kids couple, and saving money back then wasn’t difficult.  Now we’re a one-income, two-kids family.  Both of those kids still wear diapers.  One of those kids drinks nothing but formula.  Those items alone eat up a big chunk of our monthly change.

I’ve written a previous blog entry about our goal of buying a house in the next couple of years.  I know that our expenses around a new house won’t be tied up just in the purchase of the house itself.  Instead, there will be moving costs and decorating costs.  We’ll probably want new furniture.  Depending on the house, it might be necessary to spend some money on a yard.  If we upsize, our monthly utility bills will probably upsize as well.

Our other goal is to give more money to the church and to those who need it.  We do what we can now.  We tithe monthly and we support several charitable organizations.  We don’t do nearly as much as I would like to do, however.  I’d love to be able to be like the Proverbs 31 woman in verse 20, and open my arms to the poor and extend my hands to the needy.  We may not have much, but we have a lot more than some others do.

Coming in the next entry – The Proverbs 31 Woman: Creative

View my previous entries:

The Proverbs 31 Woman: Hard-Working
The Proverbs 31 Woman: An Introduction

Entry filed under: Bible study, The Proverbs 31 woman.

Life with Headwound Harry This week’s weigh-in: 8/8/2009

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


