Recharging my batteries

August 22, 2009 at 5:51 am Leave a comment

Did you know being introverted or extroverted has nothing to do with how outgoing you are?  We tend to think of outgoing, personable people as extroverted and reserved, shy people as introverted.  This is incorrect.

Instead, your level of introversion/extroversion is determined by something else: how you charge your internal batteries.  For instance, if you regroup best when you are alone, you are introverted.  If being around a group of people helps you recharge, you are extroverted.  If your creative juices flow best when you are with others, you are extroverted.  If you do your best thinking when you are alone, you are introverted.

I am most definitely introverted.  I am not shy; I have no problems meeting new people or carrying on conversations with strangers.  Some might even consider me outgoing, although I don’t know that I’d go that far.  However, if I go too long without alone time, I’m like a coffee-addict without a morning cup of joe.  I get a powerful craving to get away by myself.  In order to function at full capacity, I must have at least a few minutes of alone time every day.

This is difficult when you’re the stay-at-home mom to two small children, especially two kids who don’t always nap at the same time every day.  There are days when I have one kid or the other awake from 6:30 a.m. – 9:30 p.m.  After 9:30, I try to take a few minutes for my Bible devotion or to write in my blog.  Some days, though, I just chill out with a mindless, 15-minute round of Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook.

The morning is a great time to grab a few moments for myself, before everyone else wakes up.  I struggle with doing this, especially right now while Ashley still wakes twice during the night to eat.  (Actually, technically she only wakes once during the night, at 1:00 a.m.-ish.  The other time is usually around 5:30 a.m., clearly early morning.)  Today, for instance, I chose to put Ashley back to sleep at 6:00 a.m. and just stay up.  It’s quiet in the house, and I am alone with my thoughts.  I have time to surf the internet or write a complete sentence without someone needing attention.

Alone time is probably the one thing I miss most about my life before I had children.  Don’t get me wrong: I love my family more than anything and I would never trade this life.  However, I do wish I would not have taken for granted the large pockets of time I used to have just for me.  If I could have the time back, I would use it for something great: write a novel.  Volunteer.  Save the world.  Guess I’ll have to figure out a way to save the world with two children in tow.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

A book I love Classic Far Side

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


