The Proverbs 31 Woman: Creative

September 7, 2009 at 2:47 pm 2 comments

So far, we’ve explored how the Proverbs 31 woman is both hard-working and financially savvy.  Today, we’ll look at her next characteristic: creative.

21  When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
for all of them are covered in scarlet.

22  She makes coverings for her bed;
she is clothed in fine linen and purple.

Skipping verse 23 for this entry, we go on to verse 24:

24  She makes linen garments and sells them,
and supplies the merchants with sashes.

I am creative in certain ways.  I can make up little songs and stories for my girls.  I can put words together in a myriad of combinations.   I am good at coming up with outside-the-box solutions for many problems.

The Proverbs woman’s creativity, however, lies in her ability to make things for her family.  She makes all of their clothes, their tapestries, even their bed coverings.  And I have to admit I earn a big fat zero in this area of creativity.

sewingmachineI can’t sew, not even a button.  I never took home ec.  I wasn’t a 4-H kid, which is where some of my peers learned their way around a needle and thread.  Mom tried to teach me years ago.  I was interested in it for about a day.  And then I was on to the next thing.

The ironic thing is that I have my grandma’s sewing machine.  A few years ago, Grandma bought a brand new sewing machine, but she still had one that was in great shape, despite its advancing age.  She gave it to me, and I have pulled it out a few times to try to figure out how to use it.  I always end up getting frustrated just threading the bobbin, so back into the box and on the shelf it goes.

I appreciate people who have this talent.  My sister-in-law, Janelle, makes costumes for her boys every Halloween.  My girls, I’m sad to say, will be relegated to a lifetime of store bought and pieced together costumes.  I would love to be able to save a few dollars and make clothes for my family.  But figuring out the ins and outs of zippers and sleeves and button holes?  Fuggedaboutit.

Sewing may be a lost art.  It’s certainly one that has declined over the past few decades.  After all, it is so much easier in our disposable world to simply go out and buy a new item of clothing, instead of repairing what we have or taking the time to make something new.  In the past, sewing was the only option for people who only had two or three items of clothing, and those items had to last years.  If they wanted anything new to wear, they had to create it themselves.

I hope that some day I’ll at least be able to sew a button on.  However, that’s one of the things I keep Brad around for.

Coming up next – The Proverbs 31 Woman: Married to a Respected Man

View my previous entries:

The Proverbs 31 Woman: Financially Savvy
The Proverbs 31 Woman: Hard-Working
The Proverbs 31 Woman: An Introduction

Entry filed under: Bible study, The Proverbs 31 woman. Tags: , .

A new business idea… Ashley at 3.5 months

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


