Paging Dr. Greene

September 14, 2009 at 8:30 pm 2 comments

Between having a baby in May and my recent trips to the emergency room with Headwound Harry, I’ve had many opportunities over the past six months to see our healthcare system up close and personal.  And let me tell ya, I’ve seen the good, the bad, and everything in between.

Among the good was my L&D nurse at Wesley Birthing Center.  Kathy was friendly and personable, but incredibly efficient and on top of things.  I had complete confidence in her.  She was a bright spot in a great day.

Among the bad were the two nurses at Wesley ER during Alissa’s last injury/incident.  Wesley’s pediatric ER staff is great about entertaining the kids while they’re getting procedures done.  They distract the children with movies, bubbles, etc. – anything to get the injured child to hold still while the doctor works.

Alissa needed stitches in her forehead, so it was important for her to hold still while the doctor stitched her up.  Two nurses – one male, one female – came in to help hold Alissa and entertain her as needed.  These two nurses obviously had something going; at least, the male nurse thought they did.  He kept shooting her what he obviously thought were “suggestive” glances.  At one point, while she was blowing bubbles at Alissa, he actually said to her,

“It looks like you’ve had a lot of practice with blowing things.”

HELLO!  I mean, how did I end up in an episode of Grey’s Anatomy?  I thought ER was off the air.  St. Elsewhere called and they want their cheesy lines back.  Talk about your tacky, unprofessional, and awkward moments.  I thought I was just imagining it but the doctor shot me a look.

I chose to ignore it and not say anything.  After all, who am I to get in someone’s way when he’s trying to get his mack on?

Entry filed under: Life in general.

My Child, Fashion Icon Sad news today…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne Burris  |  September 16, 2009 at 12:18 am

    I’m not a cusser, but I may have cussed.

    Reply
  • 2. amymanatee  |  September 16, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Believe me, the thought crossed my mind. If Alissa was older and paid attention to that sort of thing, I would have said something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


