The gift of hindsight

October 22, 2009 at 2:06 pm 1 comment

Upfront disclaimer about this post: I am not complaining about my situation in life.  Love being at home with the girls, loving having two kids.  I am simply reminiscing about it all…

I didn’t know how good I had it.

Before Ashley was born, back when we were still a one-child family (which seems like lightyears away but was really, truly only five months ago) – my gig was super easy.  Starting around one year, Alissa took one nap each day, usually around 1:00 and lasting until 3:30 or sometimes even 4:00.  I had entire afternoons to myself, precious time when I could clean the house, read a book or an entire magazine, play on the internet, NAP! or just do whatever.

Now I’m lucky to find pockets of fifteen minutes of quiet during the day.  Ashley is a short napper, taking about three 45-minute naps on good days.  If I’m lucky, I can get one of those 45-minute periods to overlap with Alissa’s naptime.  Unfortunately, it’s also getting more difficult to get Alissa to nap during the day.  She is in a gray area – wants to give up her nap, but still needs one.  Some days Alissa doesn’t take a nap at all.  I’m thinking it will be stretching it if I can get her to continue her nap until her third birthday.  However, a non-napping Alissa means an earlier-bedtime Alissa, which is definitely a good thing.

Ideally, my schedule involves reading to both girls, getting Alissa settled into bed for naptime, feeding Ashley, putting her to sleep, and then enjoying the 45-minutes of quiet.  Sadly, that hasn’t really happened yet.  Yesterday, for instance:

1:30 – Change diapers.  Read stories to both girls.  Get Alissa settled into bed, turn off the light, and shut the door.

1:45 – Ashley is fed and dozed off as she finished her bottle.  Put her in bed.  Last night was a rough night and today was an early morning – maybe I can go lie down for a while.

1:50 – I can hear Alissa still playing in her bed.  Open the door and find her sitting on the edge of the bed, swinging her feet.  Get her to lie back down and cover her back up.

2:10 – Alissa is still awake and still playing.  Mean Mommy must now lay down the law.  Now she’s crying.

2:15 – Ahhhhh.  Alissa is quiet.

2:20 – Crap.  Now Ashley’s up.  35 minutes – maybe if I let her fuss for a bit, she’ll go back to sleep.

2:35 – No dice.  So much for my nap.  Ashley will take one more nap, but not until 4:30 or so – after Alissa is up from hers.

I swear they conspire against me.  For a while, it was that way at night, too – one would wake up one hour, the other child would wake up the next hour.  I’m happy to report that the frequent night waking has settled for Alissa, and Ashley is getting better.  And I can still get stuff done with one of them up during the day, since one child to look after is a piece of cake now that I’ve got two.  But I look back at all that time I used to have and think – Man!  What did I do with all that free time?  Why didn’t I appreciate it while I still had it?

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Meaningful moments. Follicle follies

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Anne Burris  |  October 23, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    I agree. When you have one child it’s still as if you’re “a couple with a child”. When you have the second one you officially seem to be “a family”. Then there’s the third one: the mushroom cloud that trumps all misery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


