A-caroling we will go…

December 2, 2009 at 5:34 pm 2 comments

In homage to the season, here’s a rundown of my top 5 favorite Christmas songs:

#5.  Jewel’s rendition of O, Holy Night.  Celine Dion also has a good recording of this, but she gets a little too strong in it for my taste.  Jewel’s version is breathy, reverent, and nearly ethereal.

#4.  I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas.  It’s annoying.  It’s kitschy.  And I can’t.stop.singing.it.

#3. Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas Is You.  I’ll admit, I can’t stand the woman.  But man, does she have pipes.  And this song is boppy, it’s catchy, and I can’t help but dance and sing when it comes on.

#2.  My two-year-old’s version of Away in a Manger.  In Alissa’s version, the little lord Jesus is asleep on the pie.  And then she cracks herself up.  Over and over and over.

#1.  Anything by Karen Carpenter.  If Barb Streis has a voice like buttah, then Karen’s was silk.  And I could listen to her all day long.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Random. A Little Holiday Spirit

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne Burris  |  December 2, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    This is a great post..love #2. I love Jewel as well, I’m gonna have to look her rendition up. By the way I can’t believe I’m going to admit this but I have this Christmas CD with various singers and I have to say the best rendition of O Holy Night that I have EVER heard comes from…brace yourself… N’SYNC!! Their A Cappella version is glorious.
    Also, if I was the last person on this earth and had to choose between Mariah Carey and a hungry lion to live with – I think I would choose the lion. She ruins my Christmas cheer everytime I hear her sing a holiday song. All I want for Christmas is some clothes to cover her up. Everything is always hanging out all over the place with that lady. Sheesh.

    Reply
  • 2. amymanatee  |  December 3, 2009 at 8:13 am

    You crack me up. I think the same thing every time I see her. I told Brad the other day that she’ll be 60 years old, still dressing like she’s 22.

    I’ll give it to N’Sync…their harmonies were great. I can imagine their rendition of that song is pretty on point. Jewel has a whole Christmas CD called Spirit. The whole CD is pretty good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


