Zzzzzzzzzz….

January 19, 2010 at 2:09 pm 1 comment

My primary resolution this year was to take better care of myself.  Among other things, a key component of this was to get more rest.  I’ve lost a lot of sleep over the past three years; I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

So far, it’s not going well.

With two small children, it’s difficult for Brad and I to get out of the house very often for entertainment.  As a result, we end up renting movies from Redbox or pay-per-view, and watching them after the girls go to bed.  Unfortunately, this means that usually we don’t start the movie until after 9:00.  On those nights, it’s close to midnight before we end up crawling into bed.  We did this on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day.  Not an auspicious beginning.

It seems like there’s always a basketball game on late (K-State/Texas, for example) or just one more thing I need to do before I go to bed.  My intention is to be in bed by 10:00, have 30 minutes of precious reading time, and then lights out by 10:30.  Most of the time, though, it’s at least 11:00 before that happens.  So I have no one to blame but myself for at least 50% of the problem.

The other 50%, though, still lies with my children.  Alissa went through a week or so of bad dreams, from which she would wake up crying and want to be comforted.  Ashley is still waking at least once – if not two or three times – during the night.  Even if I don’t go into them – if I let them try to calm themselves and go back to sleep – I hear their every whimper.

Two nights ago, however, we had a breakthrough.  For the first time in at least eight months, no one needed me from 10:00 p.m. until 5:45 a.m.  Ashley slept through the night.  Alissa slept through the night.  It was the event I’ve been waiting anxiously for.  You probably think I slept like a baby, right?

I had insomnia.

I just couldn’t turn my brain off.  I tossed, I turned.  I counted to 100.  I prayed.  (Usually, the instant I say, “Dear God,” I’m out like a light.)  Nothing was working.

Figures.

So last night I was hoping for a repeat of the night before.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t meant to be.  Both girls are congested, and as a result neither of them slept well.  I think I may have slept for a couple of hours around midnight; I know I slept for another hour or so between 6:45 and 7:45.

This is one of those days I’m thankful I don’t work outside the home.  I’m grateful to have the option of a nap if I need one.  Speaking of that, why am I writing instead of napping right now?  See ya…

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Things my daughter says. House Hunters – Wichita style

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Blankies & Booboos  |  November 30, 2011 at 9:37 am

    […] LOTS about sleep at my house, or rather, the lack thereof. (Missed it the first time?  Go here.  Or here.  Here’s another one.  Or for a really good post, go […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


