Read this book!

February 19, 2010 at 8:47 pm 4 comments

About five minutes ago, I finished reading The Heretic’s Daughter.  I’ve had the book for nearly a year; I purchased and started it about a month before Ashley was born last May.  At the time, life got in the way and I only made it about 1/3 of the way into the book before other things called my attention.

I turned back to it last weekend.  I restarted it and was immediately hooked.  The story focuses on Sarah Carrier, a 9-year-old girl living in Andover, Massachusetts in 1690.  Her mother, Martha Carrier, is an independent, feisty, proud woman who is never afraid to stand up for herself and her family.  The Carriers are first affected by smallpox, which ravages and temporarily separates the family.  They have been healthy only for a short time when groups of girls in Salem begin accusing women and men alike of witchcraft.  Martha Carrier is condemned as a witch and the family is torn apart by accusations against them.

I’ve never read much about the Salem witch trials, and this book was an enlightening look at the way suspicion and fear can make rational people take leave of their reason.  Martha Carrier was a real person; this book is written by one of her direct descendants.

I highly recommend it as a good read.  Send me a note if you’d like to borrow it from me.  I’m always happy to lend out a good book for others to enjoy.

Entry filed under: Book review.

The Proverbs 31 Woman: Married to a Respected Man Just another night at my house*

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I am always looking for a good book. I will get this one my next trip to the library. Thank you so much for the suggestion! Have you read “The Pillars of the Earth”? I haven’t finished it, about 3/4 of the way through, and it is really a wonderful book. If you have burned through your reading list, check this one out!

    Reply
  • 2. Candice  |  February 20, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    This sounds really interesting! I’ve always been morbidly curious about the Salem witch trials but haven’t really read much about them either. When my life isn’t stupid busy anymore, I’ll have to give this book a try!

    Reply
  • 3. Maria  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Ooh! I’ll definitely add this to my pile. Have you read “The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane?” It, too, was about witches, but it had a Christian theme running through it. It was light reading, but I really enjoyed it.

    Thanks for the suggestion. I love when people recommend books!

    ~Maria

    Reply
  • 4. amymanatee  |  February 23, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    I haven’t read that book! I’ll have to add it to the list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


