The Proverbs 31 Woman: A Sense of Humor

February 28, 2010 at 9:55 pm 2 comments

Finally!  We’ve come to a quality of the Proverbs 31 woman that I can actually relate to.  In Proverbs 31:25 we read:

25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
she can laugh at the days to come.

It may seem a bit incongruous to link strength, dignity, and a sense of humor together in the same verse.  Strength and dignity tends to conjure up an image of a stoic woman, while a woman who can laugh is anything but stoic.  Yet I believe that in order to truly find the humor in life, one has to have inner strength and resilience.

I come from a funny family.  My dad is witty; my brother is even wittier.  My mother has her moments, moments which are funnier than those my dad and brother come up with because they’re usually completely unexpected.

When I was a teen, we had a rough few years with my extended family.  A car accident, a shooting, cancer, a heart attack – all of these things challenged my family’s faith and bond.  When I was 15, a tornado destroyed our home.  We were gone when it hit, and we arrived home to destruction and ruin.  We spent the next day and lots of days after that literally picking up the pieces and fragments of our lives.

Not much was funny that night.  But the next day – after the storm clouds had cleared and the sunshine had returned – we started to find the humor.  Jokes were made about my mother’s housekeeping skills as we cleaned up dishes.  We discovered the source of a strange smell we had noticed a few days before: a mouse that had crawled up above the dishwasher and died.  Every time the dishwasher heated up, so did he.  Little things that made us laugh kept us from breaking down.

Laughter was what kept me going after Grandpa George died.  At his funeral, the minister told stories about the pranks Grandpa and his coworkers used to pull on each other.  Every Christmas, my brother would give Grandpa a funny gift: Tasmanian devil suspenders.  A drinking mug in the shape of a toilet.  Every time I think about Grandpa, I think of how happy and silly those gifts made him, and I laugh.

I live by the credo that life is too short to be taken too seriously.  My goal is to always be able to find the lighter side of every situation.  Obviously, this may be more difficult in some situations than in others.  I love to tell funny stories about my life and the things that happen.  I hope that when others think of me, they will laugh.

The next entry will be the last chapter in this series – The Proverbs 31 Woman: Her Just Rewards.

The Proverbs 31 Woman: Married to a Respected Man
The Proverbs 31 Woman: Creative
The Proverbs 31 Woman: Financially Savvy
The Proverbs 31 Woman: Hard-Working
The Proverbs 31 Woman: An Introduction

Entry filed under: Bible study, The Proverbs 31 woman. Tags: , , .

Blog recommendation Just because I like this picture

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  March 2, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Hey, there! I love, love, love this post! I, too, am a humorous kinda gal that loves to make jokes and laugh. It’s funny, because many people just assume that strong Christians are dry and dull. Not so!!

    With your permission, I may link to this on my blog. Is that cool? I’d love to share.

    =)

    Hugs,
    ~Maria

    P.S. Sorry about all that ugly stuff in your past. But you sound like you come from good stock! You’re blessed to have that kind of family.

    Reply
    • 2. amymanatee  |  March 2, 2010 at 4:58 pm

      Yes, feel free to link to my blog! I never mind that. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


