Alissa's dream come true

March 28, 2010 at 12:20 pm Leave a comment

We were getting ready for church this morning when Alissa spotted the princess costume from her Halloween costume.  She wears the crown (and the costume) around the house from time to time.

“Mommy, I want to wear my crown to church today,” she told me.

I shook my head.  “We can’t wear crowns to church,” I told her.  “We have to leave our crowns at home.  The other little girls might see your crown and get upset because they want one, too.”

She seemed okay with this answer.  At least, she didn’t protest.

We finally got everyone around and to our destination.  After checking in the girls at the check-in stations, we were putting nametags on both of them when something blue and sparkly caught my eye.  A tall young brunette – sporting a glamorous blue sequined gown – was in the middle of the foyer.  Around her shoulders was a sash: Miss Kansas.  And on top of her head was – what else? – her pageant crown.

“Look, Alissa,” I said.  “There’s a real live princess at church today.”

Alissa gasped.  “A princess?” she said in an excited tone.

“Do you want me to take you over to meet her?” Brad asked.

Alissa nodded enthusiastically.  Brad took her by the hand and they walked towards Miss Kansas.  At least, Brad walked; Alissa practically skipped over to her.  As they approached, Alissa asked her, “Are you a princess?”  Miss Kansas told her she was, and then offered to take a picture with Alissa.  After the picture, Alissa danced away, giddy with excitement over meeting a princess in the flesh.

So much for the argument that we can’t wear crowns to church!

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Things my daughter says Life lessons from my children

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


