Read this book!

April 19, 2010 at 4:30 pm 1 comment

An Inconvenient Wife, by Megan Chance

I’ll admit: at first glance, I wasn’t interested in this book.  I had never heard of it before my mother-in-law loaned it to me, and I had the (completely unfounded) notion that it was a romance, which is not a genre I typically read.  But I’ll give just about any reading material a chance, so I thought I’d read the first chapter.

I was completely sucked in.  This is set in 1880’s New York City.  Lucy is a member of high society, the daughter of a prominent family and married to a successful stockbroker.  She suffers from “hysteria,” a condition many women of the age were diagnosed with.  (It would probably be recognized as depression today.)  In her search for treatment and a cure, she meets Dr. Victor Seth.  Seth is a doctor of neurology, a fledgling science at the time.  The story looks at the treatment of women and racial minorities and also enlightens us about the treatment of mental disorders at the time.

Like a couple of other books I’ve mentioned, this would make a good choice for a book club or a weekend read.

Entry filed under: Book review.

Whatever happens to pop into my brain Things my daughter says

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  April 20, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Thanks for the post. The book sounds very interesting. I’ll be passing this one along as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


