Opening my mouth

May 12, 2010 at 4:16 pm 3 comments

We were out running errands earlier today, and pulled into Braums to pick up some milk.  I parked in a free space next to the door, next to a four-door sedan on the driver’s side.

As I turned off the car and started to get out, I noticed three very young kids in the sedan.  Two were in the backseat; they looked to be about 3 (maybe 4) and 2.  No car seats.

A TINY baby (2-3 months at most) was sleeping in an infant carrier in the front seat.  The carrier was, at least, facing backwards.  So I guess that’s something.

No adults were in sight.  The windows of the car were rolled down as far as they would go.  Anyone could have taken those kids out of that car.

I debated for a nanosecond.  Part of me really wanted to say, “This isn’t my problem.  Let’s go about our business.”  But I couldn’t do it.  Because if something would have happened to those kids, I wouldn’t have been able to live with myself.

The girls and I waited.  I considered calling the cops, and decided to give it ten minutes before we did that.  We waited for probably five minutes before someone (Mom?) came out, got in the car, and drove away.  I would loosely call her an adult; she looked to be barely out of her teens.  I would certainly not call her a responsible adult.

I really wanted to say something.  I wanted to say, “Hey, do you really think it’s a good idea to leave these kids in the car by themselves?  And where are their car seats?  And why is this tiny baby in the front seat?”

But I didn’t say anything.  Because I’m a non-confrontational wuss.  And because I don’t know their circumstances or the family situation.  But mostly because I’m a non-confrontational wuss.

And now I’m second guessing that decision.  What if something happens to those children in the future because the same thing occurs?  What if they are in a wreck and a child is hurt because of the lack of proper restraints?  I’ll never know if I could have helped someone if I had merely opened my mouth and spoken in a kind, friendly manner.

I am a Christian.  But how often do I miss out on opportunities to share about my faith because I am afraid to open my mouth?  How many people have I not shared the gospel with because I have been afraid of what they might think of me?  How many times have I swallowed what I should have said, opting instead to take the non-confrontational route?

I am a Christian.  Yet a good friend of mine died a few years ago – and I had never shared my faith with her.  Now I live every day with the knowledge that I don’t know if I will see her when Jesus returns.

I am a Christian.  I believe that Jesus died because of my sins and he rose again to show God’s incredible power.  I tell you this because I can no longer live with knowing that some of you may not know about the God’s love for all of us.

I am a Christian.  Could this turn some of you off of my blog?  Certainly.  I don’t like that possibility.  I want everyone to like me.  I like peace and love and harmony.  But I can no longer be concerned with what the world thinks of me, because a time is coming soon when the world’s opinion will be moot.

I am a Christian.  Do I think my belief will lead all of you who are unbelievers to Christ?  Certainly not.  But maybe some of you will believe eventually because I opened my mouth today.  And that’s all we are called to do.  Merely open our mouths and share what we believe.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Recipe: Slow Cooker Puffy Pizza It's all in the attitude

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  May 12, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Hey Amy,
    Happy to be at your blog today. Someone just told me recently that there is a $500 fine for leaving children in the car unattended. A fine like that may influence a mom to make better decisions.

    The other topic of subject in your post is something that I was just thinking a lot about last night as I was reading Galations 1:10 which says,

    “Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

    What occurred to me is that when I am not fully focused on pleasing God, but rather looking to others for affirmation, I am often left unsatisfied.
    It is when I am completely focused on Him and pleasing Him that I feel that I am living in complete FREEDOM.
    I also find myself drawn to people who live in that total freedom.

    I loved your post.

    Reply
  • 2. janet  |  May 12, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Amy, even if you had said something, she probably would have been beligerant. People like that don’t think anything could happen, but when it does, they’re the ones on TV wringing their hands and saying “I’ve ALWAYS taken such good care of my babies, how did this happen?”

    The non confrontational thing is hereditary, but it lessens with age. I confront them all anymore, who cares!

    Reply
  • 3. Priscilla  |  May 13, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    I don’t intervene when I don’t believe someone needs what I have to offer. Which is true if I am offering condimnation or judgment or criticism – nobody needs that. What would have happened if you would have said to the precious young lady, “Can I help you?”, “You look like you could use some carseats.” … or a friend … or?
    You know how to mother and you know the life-saving message of Jesus Christ – everybody needs that. I have a feeling God is watching out for those kids, and you too. You’ve got good stuff girl – give it away!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


