And after that, read this one.

May 27, 2010 at 9:02 pm Leave a comment

Here’s another one I read recently: Sarah’s Key, by Tatiana de Rosnay.  I won’t call this one excellent; parts of de Rosnay’s writing style bothered me throughout the book. However, the story captured my imagination from the first page and didn’t let go until the very last.

Sarah’s Key focuses on a relatively unknown event that happened in France in 1942.  In that year, Jews living in France were rounded up and sent to concentration camps.  The roundups were coordinated not by the Germans, but by the French authorities.  Entire families were swept up, sent away, and didn’t come back.

While I’ve always grasped the horror of the Holocaust and its atrocities, something in this book struck a new chord with me.  The French roundups in 1942 included children ages 2 and up.  As a mother of a three-year-old, I could imagine how difficult it must have been to contain a rambunctious toddler who didn’t understand what was happening.  My heart hurt to think of the children who were separated from their parents and left to fend for themselves, with no food, shelter, or clothing. More than once I had to take a break from reading, to take a minute and collect my thoughts from their dark place.

I ended up devouring this book in a weekend.  It moves quickly, at a snappy pace.  This is a great book if you love an engrossing story, especially if you like historical fiction.

Entry filed under: Book review.

Read this book! I like to move it, move it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


