But how do they know???

June 1, 2010 at 8:05 am Leave a comment

It seems that no matter how early I set my alarm, my girls get up even earlier.

I like to ease into the morning.  I’m not grumpy in the mornings, but I’m not exactly a cheerful riser.  My goal is to get up before the girls awake, do my devotional, get dressed, and maybe do a little writing before the quiet of the house is broken and my attentions are diverted.

Somehow, though, the girls always thwart my plans.  They seem to have some sort of sensor that goes off 10-20 minutes before my alarm does.  This morning, for example, I had set the alarm for 6:30.  At 6:05, a shrill cry pierced the quiet of the house.  Alissa’s bad dream propelled her – sobbing – from her bed, out of her room, and into the hallway just outside our bedroom.  Unfortunately, it’s also right outside of Ashley’s room, whom Alissa must have startled awake.  Ashley started shrieking.  I got Alissa calmed down and back to bed, but by this point Ashley was up for the day.  And 45 minutes later, Alissa came bounding out of her room with the announcement, “Mommy, it’s sunny outside!’  Code for: it’s time for me to get up!

The upside of this, though, is that I get up and get going.  It’s only 9:00 a.m., and I’ve already run a load of dishes and put in a load of laundry, picked up the house, packed the diaper bag for the Y, put Ashley back down for a nap, made beds, dressed Alissa, swept the kitchen floor, dressed myself, sent some emails, and updated my blog.  Now I can go to the Y for Pilates and not worry about what I haven’t done at my house.  Thanks, girls, for pushing me into the day.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

I like to move it, move it. Things my daughter says

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


