Read this book!

July 1, 2010 at 11:11 am 1 comment

This summer, my reading list includes old classics that I read as a kid but haven’t revisited in a long time.  It’s interesting what happens when you read books that you once loved as a teenager after you become an adult.  Perspective and understanding changes, and you begin to see the book in a whole new way.

The first book on the list was To Kill a Mockingbird.  And since not one but two of my high school English teachers are Facebook friends – and, therefore, possibly reading my blog – let me assure Mrs. Pyle and Mr. Hays that I did read this book when it was assigned.  (Sorry, not sure whose class we read it in.  I’m guessing Mrs. Pyle’s freshman English, but that was a looooooong time ago.)

Did you know this is the 50th anniversary of Harper Lee’s classic?  As a result, it was on sale at B&N so I picked it up.  I could NOT put it down and devoured it in two days.  I’d forgotten what a great story it is.

If anyone would like to borrow it, I’d be happy to loan it out!

Next on the list: Little Women.

Entry filed under: Book review.

I'm disappointed in this book. Write your heart out

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Melissa Mattern  |  July 2, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    This is one of my favorite books too. (but I didn’t read it in high school for some reason?) Mr. Hays still teaches it and I teach it in my special ed English class.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


