What’s playing in Amy’s ear?

July 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm 2 comments

Earlier this week, I put out a request for song suggestions on Facebook.  I needed to refresh my MP3 playlist for workouts, and wanted input from my fellow exercisers.  Thanks to everyone for your ideas!

I know some of you are looking for new music, too, so here’s what was playing in my ear during today’s workout.  It powered me through four miles on the track, so it must have been a good list!  My only criteria for workout music is this: does it make me want to dance?  If so, then it will probably motivate me through a workout.  I like an eclectic mix of genres and artists, although I tend to lean more towards pop/rock.  Next week I think I’ll focus on a Christian rock theme.   Soon I’ll also do an old school playlist; some of the best suggestions I got were very 80’s.

Here’s today’s list:

Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)
Lose My Breath

Beyonce & Destiny’s Child
Okay, the first one is just Beyonce, and the second one is her plus the rest of Destiny’s Child, but both are super upbeat and get the energy going.  I also manage to convince myself that listening to her music will give me Beyonce’s booty.  What’s more motivating than that?

Safety Dance
Glee Cast, Volume 3
Yes, I realize that this one earns me my official nerd badge.  I will wear it proudly.

In My Head
Jason DeRulo
I found this one on VH1’s Jumpstart Video during one or more very early mornings with Ashley.  It’s catchy.

Waking Up in Vegas
Katy Perry
All around good fun.

If We Ever Meet Again
Timbaland featuring Katy Perry
Put a bullet next to this one: this song has the PERFECT beat for fast walking.

My Life Would Suck Without You
I Do Not Hook Up

Kelly Clarkson
Also good fun.

Bulletproof
La Roux
This is also a VH1 find for me.  The first time I listened to this song, I turned the channel.  By the third or fourth time, it got me.  Now I’m a fan.

Bad Romance
Telephone

Lady Gaga (featuring Beyonce on Telephone)
I don’t get Lady Gaga.  But I gotta give her this – her music is catchy.   And yes, I know this is the third Beyonce song on this list.  Not sure what’s up with that.

Makes Me Wonder
Maroon 5
This song came out when Alissa was a newborn.  I would stare at the video in an exhausted haze at 5:30 in the morning, lulled by the video’s neon lighting and Adam Levine’s GQ-ness.  So it evokes good thoughts for me, always a necessity by this point in the workout.

Eye of the Tiger
Survivor
OLD SCHOOL!  Who hasn’t heard this song and imagined they’re Rocky, jogging up all those steps?

(If You’re Wondering If I Want You To) I Want You To
Weezer
This is just a really silly, fun song.  Great one to end on.

Entry filed under: Music.

Welcome to Blankies & Booboos! Ashley's first haircut

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Autumn C.  |  July 13, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    I love this list, Amy. Great songs on here (:

    Reply
  • 2. Candice  |  July 13, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    You need to add ‘Irreplaceable’ to your Beyonce songs. So catchy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


