Ch-ch-changes at my house

October 7, 2010 at 7:25 am 3 comments

In mid-September, I did something I haven’t done in 3.5 years:

I went back to work.

Okay, so it’s currently only four hours – one morning – a week.  Not really “going back to work”; more like “dipping my toe back into the professional world.”  I hadn’t considered taking a part-time job, but when the opportunity knocked, it felt like the time was right to pull my Ann Taylor pants out of storage and head on into the office.  (Hello, Ann Taylor pants.  It’s sweet to see you again.  It’s even sweeter that you still fit me after two babies.)

What am I doing?  I’m working for a financial consultant.  A friend of mine is looking to grow his business and needs someone to focus on the details so he can concentrate on the bigger picture.  Right now I’m just trying to absorb as much information as I can in the short amount of time I’m there.  The sheer amount of paperwork involved is mind boggling.  The acronyms will make your head swim.

So why this job?  Why now?  There are several reasons.  I have known Kale for quite a while, and know he’s a principled guy.  I’ve worked for people whose ethics are questionable at best, and I swore I would never put myself in that position again.  The other is that this job will grow with my family.  Until my girls are both in school full-time, I can work my schedule around what’s best for my family.  Third – and not most lightly, although this was not the deciding factor – is that I can earn money for a few bills.  I can cover Alissa’s preschool, maybe pay for another bill.  This is not a small thing in a family that owns its own business.

The hardest part of working even very, very, very part-time was making a decision about childcare.  Do I look for a kids day out?  Do I go with a center?  After considering all the options, I hired a babysitter.  She was lovely but didn’t quite work out.  This morning, our new babysitter, Nissi, stayed with my children.  I know Nissi through church and had glowing recommendations from another mom who uses her.  During our five-minute “orientation” this morning, she asked me if we had a first-aid kit.  She immediately engaged with the children.  She apologized profusely for being five minutes late because she was conducting a frantic search of the car keys.  Girl, you had me at first-aid kit.

~While I’m waxing rhapsodic about the new babysitter, let me also just mention that I think she unloaded my dishwasher while she was here.  I’m considering adopting her.~

I still have guilt about leaving my girls.  For the most part, it’s been just them and me since Alissa got here.  (Okay, that sounds like I don’t give Brad any credit; I should really mention that it’s been MOSTLY them and me DURING THE WEEK DAY.  There, that’s better.)  We have routines.  I know what they’ll eat for lunch and exactly what they’ll do at the park when we get there.  (Alissa will dig in the sand; Ashley will head for the swings.)

But I’m finding that I have more patience with the girls on the days I work.  I’m not too proud to admit that being a 24/7 mom has taken a mental toll over the past few years.  I love my children; I love them even more when I can take a break from them every now and then and do something that’s just about me.  I am a better mother when I am doing something I find interesting and engaging parts of my brain that don’t focus on Dora or diaper changes.

So hi-ho, hi-ho, it’s off to work I go.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Enter to win a custom swatchbook 1/7th of my life by the numbers

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. janet  |  October 7, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Good for you, Amy!! Not only does it “unfreeze” your brain, it helps out a little financially. The girls won’t be traumatized and it could even be good for them!

    Reply
  • 2. Susan Dyer  |  October 8, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Part time work is the best. It allows you to be someone else besides mom! I went back PT four years ago and it has worked out great. I do not know how families function with two full time working parents.

    Reply
  • 3. Everything old is new again. « Blankies & Booboos  |  November 12, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    […]  She works hard for the money.  I quickly went from working four hours a week to a whopping eleven.  I added an extra morning […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


