Slow progress is still progress

January 2, 2011 at 8:27 pm 1 comment

How many of us have resolved (again) to lose weight this year?

<Raising my hand>

My problem with weight loss is that I want all of it to happen now.  I don’t want to take it one pound at a time; I want to take it ten pounds at a time.  For me, slow progress = frustration and stagnation, and eventually leads to me giving up altogether.

However, I found this little piece of wisdom on a message board earlier today.  It’s something I’m going to consider every day:

If I Lost 1 Lb. Each Week of 2011

By Valentine’s Day
I’d be 7 lbs. lighter. I’m loving it!

By St. Patrick’s Day
I’d be 11 lbs. lighter. With the luck-o-the-Irish I’ll make my goal.

By Easter
I’d be 16 lbs. lighter. I’d be a cuter bunny.

By Memorial Day
I’d be 23 lbs. lighter. I won’t let it rain on my parade.

By Flag Day
I’d be 25 lbs. lighter. Boy, could I wave my flag then.

By Independence Day
I’d be 27 lbs. lighter. That’s a neat Declaration of Independence from overeating!

By Labor Day
I’d be 36 lbs. lighter. What a wonderful reward for all my hard work.

By Columbus Day
I’d be 41 lbs. lighter. What a joy to discover what I can do.

By Halloween
I’d be 44 lbs. lighter. I didn’t think I had a ghost of a chance.

By Thanksgiving
I’d be 47 lbs. lighter. I’d have so much to be thankful for.

By Christmas Eve
I’d be 51 lbs. lighter. Talk about being merry!

By New Year’s Eve
I’d be 52 lbs. lighter. It’s not just a new year, it’s a new ME!

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Giveaway winner! $5 off at Olive Garden!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer McCurdy  |  January 3, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I actually like this method and have had it my goal in the past. It was by far more rewarding for me and the weeks that I lost 2-3 pounds were just bonus weeks!

    You can do it! you can do it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


