Be careful out there.

January 10, 2011 at 5:01 pm 2 comments

Near misses all around me, accidents unknown.
Though I never see with human eyes the hands that lead me home.
~Angels Watching Over Me, Amy Grant

I had a near miss today.  I’m typing this with my still-shaky hands.

Despite the snow, K-96 wasn’t too bad when I took Alissa to school at 1:00.  Yet somehow between drop-off and pick-up at 3:45, the highway got worse.  We were heading home, westbound on K-96, just west of Webb.  We weren’t going fast.  Suddenly, multiple brake lights ahead of me started to light up.  Just as I noticed three, maybe four cars in the ditch ahead, I hit a patch of ice.  A car passed me in the left lane just I fishtailed left, nearly hitting him with my left front bumper.

I fishtailed five or six more times before we went completely out of control.  We spun around, crossing the left lane and landing in the median, where the drifted snow stopped us from sliding out into oncoming traffic.

When our slide ended, we were in the median facing the opposite direction.  I sat, stunned, for a few moments, taking stock of our situation.  Were the kids okay?  Their eyes were wide and their faces stony, but they were fine.  We hadn’t hit anyone and no one had hit us; if someone had been in the left lane as we spun around, things could have been much different.

The biggest question: were we stuck?  No, thankfully, since the drift wasn’t that deep and my 4-wheel-drive was fully capable of pulling us out.  I eased out into traffic – eastbound, this time – and exited at Webb.  I was taking the side roads home.

And I said a little prayer of thanks for the protection, all the way home.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Welcome to princess central Snow day ramblings

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. janet  |  January 10, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    AMEN!! Your angel had his wings around you all so you had a safe landing.

    Reply
  • 2. Gale Ray  |  January 10, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Glad to hear you managed to stay safe. Been there and know your legs feel like spaghetti when you finally get out of the car! Glad you and the girls were being watched over and arrived home safely, although, it was a memorable ride.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


