We’ll go outside in a minute, kids, after Mommy’s done blogging.

February 16, 2011 at 5:56 pm Leave a comment

My kids don’t spend enough time outside.

It’s totally my fault and one of my (many) failings as a parent.  We spend way too much time cooped up inside, especially when the weather is less than ideal.  (And the weather is less than ideal in this wacky -weather state approximately 350 days of the year.)

My kids aren’t to the ages where I can simply throw them into the out-of-doors with the admonition to “go play.”  Okay, Alissa is probably big enough, but not-yet-two-Ashley certainly isn’t.  So any time they spend outside is also time I have to be outside with them.

Thing is, I’m kind of a weather weenie.  In the winter it’s too cold.  In the summer it’s too hot.  And it’s too windy ALL the dadgum time.

Other thing is, I’m not overly fond of the outdoors.  I have friends who LOVE anything to do with being outside.  They will spend hours every weekend on outdoorsy activities, and they have the summer tans to show for it.  My idea of a great time in the outdoors is lounging in the shade with a good book and a beer.  (But only when it’s exactly 74 degrees with no wind.)

The other OTHER thing is that I’d much rather be doing something more cerebral (also known as sitting on my ass).  Reading.  Blogging.  Reading other blogs.  Anything that doesn’t require me to move from my chair.

And the other other OTHER thing is that every moment spent outside playing feels like a moment I “should” be doing something else more productive.  (This is where my something more productive should be something like cleaning the house, but I can hear my husband guffawing at the idea that a whole lotta cleaning is going on at our house.)  Even though I know in my head that spending time outdoors – with my children – isn’t wasted time, in my head it kinda feels like it when I’ve got a to-do list that’s 27 items long.

There’s the rub, my friends.  The idea that I would ever, in a million years, think something is more interesting than playing with my kids or more important than instilling good habits in them.  Like exercising.  Or enjoying fresh air.  Or just getting outside and using your imagination.

I’m a hypocrite.  I want my children to be active and healthy, yet I’m not doing a good job of modeling those things for them.  So we’re making a better effort to get outside, go to the park, play in the yard.  Even when it’s less than 74 degrees.  Even in the wind.

Because the last thing I want is for my children to become electronics-addicted bloggers.  We already have enough of those in this house.

Entry filed under: Life in general. Tags: , .

Taming the Clutter Monster Read this book!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


