In a little schlumpy-slump.

March 2, 2011 at 3:13 pm 1 comment

Don’t you hate it when you check a blog, only to find it’s been six days since the blogger posted?

Yeah, I hate that, too.

I have been in a slump the past few days.  Maybe because everything’s just same-ol’, same-ol’ right now.  Work?  Fine, although I had to do some creative scheduling with my hours this week due to the babysitter coming down with something.  (Get well soon, Nissi!)  Home life?  Fine, although my head might explode if ONE MORE CHILD whines, demands, or cries about I-can’t-figure-out-what today.

Exercise and nutrition?  Good and okay this week.  We’ve had Thin Mints in the freezer since Sunday and we still have half a box left, a minor miracle considering last year’s Thin Mint feeding frenzy.  I’m still waiting to hear back from the Go Red audition on Saturday, and I’m not feeling positive about my chances.

Writing?  Ah, here’s a sore spot.  I just received a fourth magazine rejection.  I think I’m having rejection dejection.  At least the last one included this line: “We would, however, like to read something else that you have written. That is not a standard reply that we give every writer, so please consider this your invitation to send another submission.” So at least I’ve got that going for me.

I guess I’ve just been down.  Nothing new under the sun, feeling like there’s never enough time in the day, feeling like I’m not making forward progress on anything.  And that’s when I have to step back and make a list of all the little things I did get done in a day.  Make the bed.  Fold a load of laundry.  Clean and clothe the children.  Then I can take a deep breath and realize I’ve been more productive than I thought.  And that lifts me out of the slump a bit.

How about you?  How do you get yourself out of a blue mood?

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Crossing my fingers and my toes Conversations with my three-year-old

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Novelda  |  March 2, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Keep going! JK Rowling shopped her manuscript around and was rejected several times before she found a taker. Lots of great writers have been rejected numerous times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


