Read these books!

April 12, 2011 at 12:49 pm 2 comments



I recently joined a book club.  And I have to admit – when I found out The Hunger Games was the first book I’d be reading for the book club, I was skeptical.  It looked like a sci-fi book, which I am most definitely not into.  When I visited the library catalog, however, I found that the waiting list for the book was 47 people long.  Since I didn’t want to wait that long, I bought it on Amazon.com.

I will admit, right here in front of all of you, that I was ever so wrong about my initial thoughts about the book.  Loved it, loved it, loved it.  Loved it so much that I resented anything that drew my attention elsewhere, including my daughter’s 4th birthday party.  Loved it so much I had to go buy the sequel, Catching Fire, immediately.  Fortunately, I lucked out and was able to get the third book of the trilogy, Mockingjay, from the library with no wait.

It’s sometime in the future, and North America no longer exists.  In its place is a country called Panem, which consists of 13 districts and is ruled by the Capitol.  Every year, the Capitol takes two teenagers – one boy and one girl – from each district and requires them to participate in the Hunger Games, a fight-to-the-death event that exists to remind the districts that they should never, ever step out of line.

Katniss Everdeen has been chosen as the girl representative for District 12 in the 74th Hunger Games.  She will be accompanied by Peeta, a boy from her district whom Katniss knows by sight but has never talked to.  Together, they experience the Capitol for the first time, and get a firsthand look at the barbarity of the Hunger Games.

Katniss has had to fight for everything in her life, a quality that will serve her well in the games.  Smart, resourceful, and wary, she is pitted against others who are stronger, bigger, better trained and better fed than she is.  Inside her hardened exterior is a girl who cares deeply about her family and her friends, and will do anything to protect them.

While I devoured books 1 & 2, book 3 – Mockingjay – was a bit harder to get through.  The first half of the book just didn’t have the same focus and order of the first two.  It did tighten up towards the last 1/3 of the book, however, and I found myself racing to the finish.  I was a bit sad to see the story end.

This is a young adult series, although some of the content is rather violent and somewhat graphic.  Despite its YA ranking, the story is one that will entertain adults, as well.

Entry filed under: Book review.

What’s Playing in Amy’s Ear? Order When Ready!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Candice  |  April 12, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    I am having trouble getting into the groove of Mockingjay, unfortunately. I think because I read the first two within a matter of days (back to back) and then had to wait a bit for the last one, I’ve lost my momentum. Glad to hear the last half is worth it, though – I’ll power through it until I get there!

    Reply
  • 2. My monthly reading list. « Blankies & Booboos  |  January 29, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    […] already read these three books: The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay.  In fact, I did a recommendation of them last year on the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


