Order When Ready!

April 18, 2011 at 1:53 pm Leave a comment

I haven’t vented any of my incredibly petty annoyances to you lately, Dear Reader.

That’s about to change.

What is up with the fast food restaurants (whom I shall not identify for fear of legal persecution; let’s call them SchmuckDonalds) using pre-recorded greetings at their speakers, most of which end with “Order when ready!”, and then when you place said order following the greeting, you’re presented with a 10-second delay, after which a real voice comes on and says, “Ummm…could you repeat that?”

Deep breath.

In case you weren’t able to decipher that unwieldy rant of a run-on sentence, let me break it down for you.  I frequently patronize the local SchmuckDonalds for a tasty carbonated beverage.  A carbonated beverage I will not identify because I wrote on here six months ago about how I was giving it up and therefore should not be patronizing said local SchmuckDonalds to obtain said beverage.

Anyhoo.

I pull up to the speaker.  I wait for the prerecorded message.  I place my order.  And then, 9 times out of 10, I have to repeat my order because the cashier wasn’t ready for me.  And it annoys me to no end because a) if you have a prerecorded message that says “Order when ready,” then your staff should be ready when the customer is ready and b) I do enough repeating myself enough during the day to my children and I shouldn’t have to do it at the drive-thru every single time.

You’d think I’d learn my lesson.  Make my stand by not frequenting that place anymore.  Take the direct approach of saying something to a manager.  However, I prefer to take the more passive-aggressive approach of simply complaining about it to you people and settling for a big eye-roll and a snotty little tone as I repeat my order.

I never said I handle my annoyances in an adult-like manner.

Which reminds me, I haven’t had any carbonated beverage today.  And I have to go pick up my kid from preschool.  There’s a SchmuckDonalds on the way.  Time to warm up the eye-roll and the snotty tone.

Entry filed under: Life in general. Tags: .

Read these books! Read this book!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


