A conversation with my daughter

May 4, 2011 at 3:03 pm 3 comments

Alissa just drew this picture for me:

“It’s a Mother’s Day card!” she exclaimed proudly.

“It is?!?” I said.  “Well, it’s lovely.  Let me see.  Is this me right here?” (Pointing to the tall – and might I add, very thin, thank you Alissa – lady-type person on the upper right.)

“Yes, that’s you.  And there’s me!” she said, pointing to the blondish creature on the left.

“Of course it is.  And is this Ashley?” I asked.

“Nope,” she said.

“No?  Who is it then?”

“That’s Keeira.” (Her buddy from school.)

“Keeira?  Where’s Ashley?”

“Ashley isn’t in this picture.”  Her eyes got really wide as she said, “Mommy, I want Keeira to be my sister.”

“But, ‘Liss, you have a sister.  Ashley is your sister.”

“I know, but she’s not as much fun as Keeira.”

“Well, I know sweetie, but Keeira is your friend.  Her mommy might miss her if she became your sister.”

“That’s okay,” she said.  “Her mommy has two other kids.  And she could come visit us whenever she wanted to.”

“I’m sorry, honey,” I told her.  “But it just doesn’t work like that.”

“Oh.”  Alissa was dejected now.  “Mommy?”

“Yes?”

“I don’t think I want to give you a Mother’s Day card now.”

Entry filed under: Life in general.

So very true. One more step.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle Swift  |  May 4, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I am rolling over this!!

    Reply
    • 2. ~Amy  |  May 4, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      Just you wait, M. Swift…in about 3 years you’ll have your own stories to tell! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Micah  |  May 6, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    I love this it made me laugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


