I need new technology like a hole in the head.

May 22, 2011 at 6:15 am 1 comment

When it comes to reading material, I consider myself a purist.  A traditionalist, if you will.  I like holding a book.  I love to rip out and dogear pages in magazines for future reference.

In the past I have said that I would never switch to an electronic device for my reading.  That I preferred the old-school delivery of words on the printed page bound up in a neat little package.

It’s with some consternation, therefore, that I find myself coveting a new tablet.

There.  I said it.  I’m suffering from an acute case of tablet desire.  Somewhere along the way, I have decided that I need a tablet PC.  A portable little machine upon which I can check my email, play on the internet, and – yes – download and read my books.

It started when someone at church had a Kindle.  She had just gotten it for Christmas and was playing with it before kids arrived in the nursery.  I asked if I could look it.

(Note: This is exactly why Amy does not like to play with gadgets she doesn’t own.  It makes Amy suffer from want-itis.)

The Kindle was sleek.  The Kindle was portable.  Surprisingly, the words on the Kindle looked just like they do on the page of the book.  And with the case on it, the Kindle felt just like a real book.

I was sucked in.  I decided I needed (wanted) one.  I started researching them, comparing the Kindle and the Nook and the Sony Reader and all the other devices out there.

Then my husband – he who is tuned in and turned on to every electronic gadget currently on the market or about to be introduced – got me thinking in another direction.  I didn’t need an e-reader, he said.  What I really wanted was a tablet.  They have more functionality, he said.  And in the next year, there’s going to be an influx of new models and price wars going on between all the manufacturers.

Hmmmm.  I resisted this notion at first.  I’m a stay-at-home mom to two little kids – why would I need a tablet PC?  But the more I thought about it, the more the idea began to grow on me.  I could get my books on it, download games for the kids, check my email, even blog.  All of the things I use my computer for throughout the day.

And the more the idea began to take root in my mind, the more I noticed others with their tablets.  A friend from church used her iPad during a MOPS meeting.  Oooh, I thought, I could take notes on my tablet during meetings and have them at the ready to send out the next day.  Interesting.

Sitting in church one Sunday morning, the man in front of us pulled out his tablet just before service started.  I just happened to notice (staring over his shoulder, yes, I was snooping) that he had pulled up not only his Bible but was also taking notes on the church’s electronic bulletin that’s available.  Oooh, I thought, I could not only take notes and follow along during church, but I could also keep my prayer journal (and weight journal, and regular journals) on my tablet PC.  Interesting.

(Another note: I was taking sermon notes in crayon.  Red crayon, to be exact, because that was all that was I could find in my purse.  The purse that has a plethora of toys and tissues and hand sanitizer and everything else my children could need in times of emergency, but not a writing pen.  Moms of the world know what I’m talking about.)

And so the minor want turned into a full-fledged desire for a new tablet.  My husband – he who loves to research all of the newfangled gidgets and widgets and gadgets out there – began to bombard me with information.  Every day he had some new little piece of info to share.  Most of it went directly over my head; Brad’s more into the technical specifications of his devices.  I’m more of a “does it do what I want?” and “oooooh, pretty” kind of a buyer.

I have a laptop.  You would think this would suffice, but oh, no, I still can’t get the prospect of a new tablet in my head.  My laptop is 3.5 years old; in laptop life span, mine qualifies for AARP.  The battery is shot, so it must be plugged in at all times, rendering the benefit of having a laptop somewhat moot.

Thing is, as much as I want one, I really can’t justify the expense of a tablet PC.  And my goal has been to spend less time on the computer; I’m afraid a new portable gadget in my life would render that goal completely unattainable.

But I still really, really, really want one.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Musings about writing. 20 years later, the tornado still haunts me.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sandy Taylor  |  May 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    My exact thoughts. I cannot justify my desire, but I WANT one too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


