Just thinking out loud.

June 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm Leave a comment

Greetings from the surface of the sun, I mean, Kansas.  Random thoughts brought to you from the coolness of my basement, where we are taking refuge.  

A discussion between my children in the backseat of the car today:

Alissa:  “Ashley, you are wearing shoes.”

Ashley:  “Shoes!”

Alissa:  “But I’m wearing boots.”  (She was.  Inexplicably, my child was wearing a halter top, sporty skort, and galoshes.  I’m over being embarrassed by my child’s sense of style, which is probably more defined than mine.)

Ashley:  “Shoes!”

Alissa:  “No, Ashley, these are BOOTS.  You are wearing shoes.”  (Said in her best I-am-the-big-sister-and-must-educate-you voice.)

Ashley:  “Shoes?”

Alissa:  “Nooooo, booooooots.”

Ashley:  “Booooooooots?”

Alissa:  “No, Ashley, you’re not wearing boots.  Those are shoes.”  (Insert annoyed, why-doesn’t-she-get-it sigh here.)

Ashley:  “BOOTS!”

This conversation went on for well over five minutes.  It only stopped when we got to our destination.  I’m not quite sure Alissa ever did get her point across.  I love conversations between a four-year-old and a two-year-old.

***********

Speaking of destinations, I had told Alissa we’d go to the waterpark this afternoon.  I conned her into going for “ice cream” instead.  Because I didn’t feel like contending with the waterpark.  And when I say “ice cream,” it’s really FroYo.  My children think it’s ice cream.  I’m not about to tell them otherwise for fear that the term “frozen yogurt” may turn on the irrational child switch in their heads that says they can’t like something because they don’t know what it is.  In essence, I’m lying by omission to my children.  Parent of the Year, I am.

***********

Ever been in a situation where you’re looking around for an adult to handle things, and you suddenly realize, “Wait, I AM the adult!”?  This never fails to take me by surprise.

***********

I’ve heard several people mention that they thought life was going to be less hectic in the summer, yet their schedules are even busier than they normally are.  I smugly thought “Hey, I’ve avoided that!”, yet here I am, with something booked every single day this week.  And next week.  And the following week.  June is going by in a flash.

***********

Speaking of flashing, why is it that people lose the common sense and sense of modesty the good Lord gave ’em when it gets hot outside?  Ladies, just because it’s hot outside doesn’t give you license to wear things that show boobage.  Or buttage.  Or anything that smacks of a beer belly.  Please, let’s consult our mirrors before leaving our homes, mmmkay?

(And just so no one gets self-conscious or anything, the above statement does not apply directly to anyone in my immediate circle of acquaintances.  It does, however, apply to many people at Wal-Mart.  Or RiverFest.  Or the Y.  Please, pleeeeez, people, put it AWAY.)

************

Ashley thinks the words to “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” are “Pickle, Pickle, Little Star.”  Funniest. Thing. EVER.  I make her sing it just so I can hear it again.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Things My Daughter Says Help a girl out, will ya?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


