True friends never let the conversation stop.

June 23, 2011 at 2:49 pm 3 comments

In my 20’s I lived in Topeka.  While most Topekans complain about their town – not unlike most Wichitans I know – I liked living there.  I had a cute little house in a college neighborhood.  I had a job at a lobbying firm and grad school to occupy my evenings.  Most of all, though, I had a great group of friends.

Most of us were single, young professionals; more than a few of us were working on masters’ degrees in various fields. A balanced mix of guys and girls, we spent way too much time and way too much money at the bars.  We went on road trips and attended concerts.  We had long talks about every topic imaginable. We laughed until our stomachs hurt. 

Living on my own, they became my extended family.  And when I moved back to Wichita in 2003 I didn’t realize how much I was giving up.  Because despite promises to call and email and never lose touch, it was inevitable that the busyness of life would get in the way.

Among us we’ve had weddings and divorces and children.  Some of us have moved up in our careers and some of us have changed careers completely.  Some of us have moved to new places but some are still there.

And even though I know where to find them and track everyone down through Facebook or email, we don’t talk as much as we should.  The occasional phone call here, an infrequent get together there.  Yet when we do get together, it’s as if no time has passed at all.  Like the conversation was merely paused for a moment, to be taken back up again with no hesitation or awkwardness.

We still talk about every topic under the sun, although now the conversation is more likely to focus on job stress and our kids and what schools we’re going to choose.  That’s what I love about true old friends: no matter how much you’ve changed, they still see you as you are.

Sometimes years go by between our meetings.  Yet I hold each of them close in my heart and in my prayers.  I can only hope they all know how much they meant – and still mean – in my life.  I also hope they all know that I smile when I think of them.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Happy Father’s Day Mountain climbing

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patty Weaver  |  June 24, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Amen! Good times that I reflect on fondly and will always cherish.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah Sowers  |  June 24, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    Been thinking about our old Stampede days since it’s going on this weekend (in much MILDER weather, mind you!). Sweet blog, Amy!

    Reply
  • 3. Travis swift  |  July 6, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I made some of my best friends in the world when I moved to Manhattan. Great blog post Amy. Made me think about some great times…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


