March of the stick people

July 19, 2011 at 1:31 pm 1 comment

Mom and I were talking about Alissa’s kindergarten readiness yesterday.  While she has another before she starts “big kid school,” as she calls it, Alissa knows her letters and numbers and is starting easy math and reading.  Mom – who has taught second grade for nearly 30 years – brought up something I hadn’t thought of.

“You might want to work with her on her people drawing,” she told me.

It seems that, 30 years ago, a school counselor flagged me as “possibly emotionally disturbed” as a result of the distorted stick people I drew during my kindergarten screening.

The counselor told the kindergarten teacher about her concerns regarding my emotional state.  Fortunately, when you grow up in a small town, chances are good that you know your teachers outside of school.  In my case, the kindergarten teacher lived across the street.  Mrs. Hittle knew me, knew my family, and knew my emotional state.  She assured the counselor that this was not the case, and told my mom about the conversation.

The people I drew had straight line bodies, no feet, and no hands.  I guess this is an indication of certain problems in the therapy world.  In my world, I call this an indication of my lack of any artistic gene whatsoever.

Seriously.  I can’t draw / paint / craft to save my life, even now.  I’m more likely to create a picture with words, not materials.  However, some yo-ho with a psychology degree thought they could diagnose me based on my 5-year-old rendition of stick people.

And I’ve taught Alissa how to draw stick people.  Uh-oh.  She might be flagged in her future file.

Guess we have a year to perfect her people.  At least give ’em feet and a smile.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Things My Daughter Says Information overload.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. klhobbs21  |  July 19, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Oh my goodness! 🙂 This makes me look forward to this year’s kindergarten screenings. haha
    In Rose Hill part of our screening is cup stacking. 🙂 You should make her a master cup stacker!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


