A sappy little love letter (sort of)

October 5, 2011 at 7:46 pm Leave a comment

I Corinthians 13:13 – And these three remain: faith, hope, and love.  But the greatest of these is love.

This weekend marks my sixth wedding anniversary.  Six years ago I married the man God had saved for me for 29 years.  The man who was to give me his name and his children.

Some days, it feels like we’ve only been married a year, honeymooners still trying to figure out this dance of marriage.

Other days, it feels like more like thirty years, old timers still trying to figure out this dance of marriage.

I thought marriage got easier as it went along.  And in some ways, it does, but in others, it’s still a work in progress.

It will probably always be a work in progress.

We have very different Love Languages, he and I.  I am an “Acts of Service” kind of girl.  I was gone for two days this weekend and came home to find Brad had done both the dishes and the laundry.  *Swoon*

It’s been a while since I “made” him take the Love Languages test, but he leans more towards “Quality Time” as his language.  He’s much more gratified by spending time together than having something done for him.  As someone who has plenty of Quality Time with the kids, it’s sometimes hard for me to remember that he needs time from me, too.

(Pssst…want to see what your love language is?  Here’s a link to the quiz.)

We have days we harmonize and days we clash.  We are learning to forgive the other’s slights, both intentional and unintentional.

Parenting has brought a different dynamic to our marriage, a dynamic in which I must often be reminded that I am a wife first and a mother second, instead of the other way around.

The thing that keeps our marriage solid – that should keep any marriage solid – is that I trust him.  More than I’ve ever trusted anyone.  I trust him to always tell me like it is (he will), always follow through on his word (he does), and always stay true to who he is (no worries on that one).

Happy almost-anniversary, Brad.  Cheers to many more.

Wedding laugh

Entry filed under: Life in general.

A fun new project And then they sent us the wrong way.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


