And then they sent us the wrong way.

October 10, 2011 at 1:46 pm 9 comments

running momsI ran my second 5K this weekend.  I signed up for it with enthusiasm, but Saturday night’s rain was putting more than a damper on my “want to” for this race.  And given my lackadaisical training program the past month, I was not looking forward to it.  In fact, if I a) hadn’t posted on this blog that I was running it and b) recruited my sister-in-law, Janelle, to run it with me, I probably would have blown the whole thing off and slept in.

Instead, I found myself up and out the door by 7:15 Sunday morning, rejoicing that the rain was holding off for the time being.  I was anticipating crowded parking lots; what I found were accessible parking lots but insanely long lines for the bathrooms.   A few texts helped me locate Janelle, and we cheered the send-off for the half-marathoners and full-marathoners who started fifteen minutes before us.

As we lined up for the start of our race, it started to rain.  More than a sprinkle but less than a downpour.  I decided to just ignore it.  After all, I’m tougher than a little rain.

They blew the horn and started the timer and we were off.  Janelle and I chatted through the first part of it.  As we headed down Douglas street and through the intersection with Emporia, Janelle made an observation:

“I thought we were supposed to turn there.”

I didn’t know.  Truth be told, I’m a middle-of-the-pack-runner and don’t pay much attention to the map pre-race, simply because I know I’ll follow the rest of the herd.  We both kinda shrugged it off and followed the rest of the group in a somewhat sheeplike fashion.

A half mile later, the 5K-ers in front of us began turning around.  “Wrong way,” volunteers shouted at us.  “You’re on the wrong route.”  Wrong route???   Turns out the markers for the race weren’t right, and the pace bike leading the group also took the wrong path.  They turned the whole lot of us around and redirected us back up the street and towards the start/finish line.  What was supposed to be a scenic 5K route turned into a simple out-and-back run.

We were lucky, I’ve heard.  Some of the runners – the faster ones – ended up running 4 miles.  By the time we got turned around, we were pretty much exactly halfway.  According to Janelle’s calculations, we ended up running around 3.1 miles, or about the right distance for a 5K.

Race organizers were apologetic but still a bit nonchalant in their acknowledgement of the snafu.  They decided not to award any prize money to the winners, given the inaccuracy of the route.  I felt for the people who came in first; I’ll never win any prize money from a race, but those who worked hard to earn those prizes should get them.

Here is where I must publicly acknowledge my drill-sergeant running partner, Janelle, who talked me through the race and didn’t let me quit running to walk.  “Just over the bridge,” she said, when I wanted to stop.  “Then we’ll see where we’re at.”  Without her pushing me, I wouldn’t have made it.  She also helped me to shave nearly three minutes off my 5K run time from the Girls on Run race in May.

Here is where I must also publicly apologize to my running partner, who had to put up with my whining and complaining the entire time.  My stomach hurt.  My shins hurt.  I was grumpy.  Seriously, sorry about that, J.  Debbie Downer obviously came out to run yesterday.

The funny thing is, as much as I complained during the whole thing – and genuinely hate every minute of running – the spirit of the day was infectious.  “We should run a half-marathon!” I declared to Janelle before the race.  (This was a mere 20 minutes before we were actually running and I swore off ever running again.)  Then, from the comfort of Mead’s Corner Coffee Shop where we enjoyed a post-run beverage, I declared, “We should run a 10K!”  As long as they don’t send us the wrong way next time.

Entry filed under: A weighty matter, Life in general.

A sappy little love letter (sort of) November is my birthday month. And that means…

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janelle  |  October 10, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    You did great and didnt complain very much. 🙂 It was fun. Ill think about a 10k…but we better put the half marathon off … we need more training!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Lindsey G.  |  October 10, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Great job! I’m trying to work up the nerve to participate in a few races next spring. That training is just a killer but the after glow is oh-so- splendid!

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah R  |  October 10, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    I wondered if that happened to you. David was one of the unlucky to run 4 miles…he was peeved! He was trying to defend his age group title. 😦 I’m just glad I had an excuse to not have to do the race – the kids need a babysitter!!

    Reply
    • 4. ~Amy  |  October 10, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      I’m thinking next year we have a CCC women’s posse run the 5K. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Shannon  |  October 10, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Matt ran the full marathon…we made it to the 7mi, 14 mi, 16mi and finish line to cheer him on. Felt a whole lot like a HS cross country race…here he comes, there he goes. VERY proud of his accomplishment AND yours!

    Reply
    • 6. ~Amy  |  October 10, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      I saw Matt Saturday at the Fit Expo. Can’t believe he was on his feet all day Saturday and then ran the marathon on Sunday! What a great accomplishment.

      Reply
  • 7. Kacie  |  October 10, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    I heard about the mix up from one of my friends who also ran the 5k. I wonder if she was with you in your group. It was nice to read your take on the incident. So many people were upset, and I would have been too! I’m going to share this blog with her. Thanks for sharing and great job on your run!

    Reply
    • 8. ~Amy  |  October 10, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      Great job on YOUR run, Kacie! You’re a running machine. 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Blankies & Booboos  |  December 29, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    […] stroller.  But I completed the other two 5Ks, one by myself and the other with my sis-in-law.  Pat on the back for the girl who has never, ever, ever run more than a mile.  And that was back […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


