No more head sprinkles for me!

October 16, 2011 at 8:03 am 1 comment

Guess what I did last night?

I got baptized.  In a private ceremony before church service, with my husband and children looking in, I was immersed in the baptismal at church.

I was baptized as a baby, sprinkled on the head in our Methodist church.  It’s not like I’ve been walking around unbaptized for the past 35 years.  And I chose Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior as a tween, so I’ve had that going for me.

God started talking to me about baptism four years ago, when we began attending our church.  It seemed that every sermon contained a section personally directed to me, telling me that I should be baptized.

I fought it.  I rationalized it with the thought that I’d already been baptized.  I told myself I was too nervous to be baptized in front of the church congregation.  I didn’t want to get all wet and then have to attend church with bad Amy hair.  I ignored what I was being told.

And then, a few weeks ago, I attended a mom’s retreat.  The speaker told us there are two kinds of giving into God.  The first kind is to submit, give ourselves over to his plan for us in a willing manner.

The second kind is to surrender, to be backed into a corner until we throw up our hands and yell, “OKAY!  YOU WIN!!  I’LL DO WHAT YOU WANT ME TO DO!!”

After the 14th sermon of being commanded to be baptized, I surrendered.

And you know what?  Attending church with bad hair wasn’t so bad.  It was my badge of honor at service last night.

Baptism

Entry filed under: Life in general.

November is my birthday month. And that means… Random snippets from my life.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  October 16, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Hey 5:33 service is come as you are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


