Recommended Reading: “21 Days to a More Disciplined Life”

December 1, 2011 at 7:01 am Leave a comment

Money Saving MomI follow this blog called Money Saving Mom.  While she posts frequently about great deals and frugal living, she also focuses on how to make your life more efficient and productive.

Recently she’s been doing a series called “21 Days to a More Disciplined Life.”  The series takes a look at conquering bad habits and establishing good ones – one habit at a time.  This has been a very insightful blog series for me, as I suffer from the very bad habit of procrastination.

I’ve done the steps throughout the blog posts along with the blogger, and my new mantra is this:

Get ‘er done.

Okay, maybe that’s Larry the Cable Guy’s mantra.  He’s probably going to sue me now.  But really, my bad habit of procrastination can be boiled down to two solutions:

1) Do it now.  While I’m thinking about it.  Otherwise, it takes up too much real estate in my brain, space that could be used for more important things.

2)  Do the hard thing first.  The blogger suffers from an acute case of laundry hatred.  Likewise.  I don’t mind the sorting and the washing, it’s the folding and putting away that gets me.  I’m trying to be better about staying on top of the laundry on a daily basis, so I don’t spend my Sundays climbing laundry mountain and cursing the fact that I’m inside doing a hated chore instead of spending my Sabbath focused on my family.

If you have any goals you want to achieve or any habits you’d like to develop, I encourage you to read the series.  It’s an easy read, and just might help you discover some of your potential.

Question: What’s one good habit you would like to establish?

Entry filed under: A weighty matter.

A good night’s sleep? What’s that??? And…potty training, round 2.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


