My goal list for 2012.

December 31, 2011 at 3:07 pm 3 comments

“If you don’t know where you are going, you’ll end up someplace else.”
~Yogi Berra

 

As we tick off the final hours of 2011 and await the appearance of a new year, I’m thinking about my goals for the next 365 days.  I have several specific things I want to accomplish; some of them are lofty while others are more mundane.

Yesterday I sat down for two hours and really thought through those goals and developed plans for achieving them.  I used these criteria for determining which goals made the list:

  • Is it important? Will it make a difference in my life or someone else’s?
  • Is it achievable? Do I have the abilities and resources to make this goal a reality?
  • Is it realistic?  Will I be able to achieve my goal by the deadline, given the things I already have on my plate?
  • Is it measurable?  Will I be able to monitor my progress?

For a goal to make the list, the answer to all four of those questions had to be yes.  I started the process with prayer and a Bible reading, just to set the right tone.  During my planning session, I also used a worksheet provided by Money Saving Mom.  It’s a handy tool for breaking down goals step by step.

I have gone back and forth, back and forth in deciding whether or not to make these goals public here.  On one hand, the accountability of having my goals out there will be a great motivator for me.  On the other hand, I really dislike failure.  I dislike public failure even more.  Yet I guess it’s better to have tried and gone out in a blaze of glory than to have never tried at all.

So let me say here: I reserve the right to fail at any of these in a spectacular, blazing fashion.

I’m not going to share ALL my goals with you.  I have one or two that are very personal; I’ll keep those just for me.  And I’m not really sharing the how of all of these in this post.  My plan is to share the how throughout the year in various blog posts, keeping me accountable not just today but throughout all of 2012.

Without further ado, here’s my list for 2012:

Physical
*  Lose 40 pounds.  (Due date: July 1)

Spiritual
*  Spend 30 minutes every day in prayer and Bible reading.  (Due date: December 31)

Family
*  Potty train Ashley.  (Due date: March 1)
*  Teach Alissa 50 sight words.  (Due date: August 1)

Professional
*  Complete a first draft of my novel, Summer of Mercy.  (Due date: October 31)
*  Sell 50 online articles.  (Due date: December 31)
*  Sell 5 magazine articles.  (Due date: October 1)

Financial
*  Pay off 1/2 of remaining student loan balance.  (Due date: December 15)

Personal
*  Read 24 books this year.  (Due date: December 31)

Happy new year to all of you.  I pray that each of you will achieve your goals this year, no matter how big, small, personal, or public they turn out to be.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Goals are dreams with an action plan. What’s playing in Amy’s ear?

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


