The Weekly Weigh-In

January 6, 2012 at 2:16 pm 3 comments

Okay, so.  I posted my goals for 2012 here.  And then I said I’d be talking more about how I’m working on those goals.  Here we go.

My six-month goal is to lose 40 pounds.  I lost six in October as part of the Advocare challenge I was in, and promptly gained it all back as a part of the holiday binge-fest I went on.  As a method of keeping myself accountable, I’ll be doing “The Weekly Weigh-In” post here every Friday.  It will be a run-down of my week nutritionally and physically.  Hopefully, it will be an encouragement to some of you who are going through this same struggle.

Week #1
Loss this week:  .6 lbs
Total lost since 12/30/2011: 1 lb. 

I’ve lost one pound so far.  Whoopity-do.  I keep telling myself, though, that if I do this for the next 26 weeks, I’ll have lost 26 pounds.  Which is short of my goal of 40 in six months, but it’s progress.  After all, this is my motto for the year:

progress not perfection

Nutrition

On Sunday, my sister-in-law Janelle emailed me this diet challenge.  It’s a 21-day, no-junk challenge.  I’ve successfully completed four days and I’m on day 5.  Brad is even doing it with me, which provides huge support.  The first two days were great.  On day 3, however, I would have given Alissa away for a sweet treat.  Fortunately I made it through the cravings.  Here’s what the challenge looks like:

 No Junk Challenge

Last night we were at Abuelo’s for dinner, and chips are on the list of no-no foods.  Of course, not eating chips at Abuelo’s is kind of like going to Disney World and not visiting the Magic Kingdom.  Especially when cheese dip was ordered.

I’m also tracking my calories over at myfitnesspal.com.  If you haven’t used it, this is a great FREE tool for journaling.  If you join MFP, search for me and send me a friend request.  I’m amyjhwk98.

I’m also continuing with Advocare supplements as a way to keep my energy up and boost my metabolism.

Fitness

The plan is to try a new group exercise class or a new kind of fitness every week.  I tend to stick to the same classes, instructors, and exercises over and over, simply because they’re in my comfort zone and they don’t scare me. I’ll be trying something new every week, until I feel like I’ve exhausted all the options.

This week, I tried Body Design on Monday.  Body Design is an interval class, interspersing multi-muscle strength exercises with cardio.  It’s a HARD class and not for the faint of heart.  Really.  I got light headed during the class and had to step out for a few minutes.  It’s so much up-down-up-down that this old girl wasn’t quite ready for.  I’m proud to say, however, that I got back in there and finished strong.  I could barely walk for two days afterward, and I’m just now feeling back to normal.  I think that’s a class I’ll try again.

It’s scary to share this journey on my blog.  I don’t exactly want everyone to know that I struggle with food and I struggle with motivation to exercise.  Yet, if I can be an inspiration or a support to someone else, then I’m willing to put my journey out there.  And I’m hoping that you all will be my cheerleaders when I’m discouraged.  My picker-uppers when I fall down.  My butt-kickers when I get lazy.

Will you do that?  I promise to do the same for you.

Entry filed under: A weighty matter.

You got that right. In Sickness and In Health

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cat  |  January 6, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    I love the no junk challenge. I really need to do it with you. I want to drop (and keep off) 20 lbs and I’ve got so many holiday leftover treats that I’m going nowhere fast. I love myfitnesspal too! I’m mrscat206 if you want to add me. Good luck with your journey! Sounds like you’ve got just the right attitude 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. ~Amy  |  January 6, 2012 at 2:45 pm

      Please do it with us!! It’s a great way to get over the cravings. The day after we started it, my husband asked me, “So what is left to eat???” 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Anne Burris  |  January 6, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    This sounds great! I hope you have steady success! I don’t like going to the gym, so I got some exercise videos from the library instead. They are sitting on the movie shelf taunting me as I haven’t even done one yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


