The Weekly Weigh-In: January 13

January 13, 2012 at 7:25 am 1 comment

Week #2
GAIN this week: 1 pound
Total lost since 12/30/2011: 0 

I apologize now for the tone of this blog post.  You might want to not even read it; I am writing it strictly for therapeutic reasons.

My inner emotional world is ugly this week.  I’m discouraged.  And, frankly, somewhat disgusted with myself.  Completely jealous of others who are losing.  And wondering: what will it take for me to turn this around?

The problem is that I am inherently lazy.  Weight loss is a LOT of work.  Just the nutritional side takes tons of time: planning meals, buying the right groceries, food prep and cooking, it all adds up to time I could spend doing something else.

Then there’s the exercise portion.  It should be quick and easy to just hit the Y for a 30 minute run on the treadmill, right?  However, with two kids under the age of 5, the words “quick and easy” no longer apply to any outing.  Get everybody dressed.  Drop the kids off at the KidZone.  Workout.  Wrangle kids back into shoes and retrieve Ashley out from under the rock wall, where she has run off while I helping Alissa get her shoes on.  Before we can even leave the building, we must stop and say goodbye to the doggie statue by the front door.  The result?  A 30-minute workout turns into an hour-and-a-half ordeal.  I get frustrated by the wasted time.

Oooh, before I forget: we did get something new in this week on the exercise front.  Instead of a new class, I tried a new location.  We hit the Andover Y as a change of pace.  We’ve been there before, but it’s been a long time.  I LOVE their facility and wish we lived closer.  We usually alternate between the North Y and the East Y, just to give all of us new scenery.

I will admit that 60% of the problem this week has been a lack of preparedness on my part.  This place looks like Old Mother Hubbard’s joint.  I haven’t been to the grocery store in a week and a half.  I was going to go last night – sans children – but Brad had to work late and by the time he got home I was toast.  We are out of just about everything.  There is a sad little bunch of celery in the vegetable crisper, languishing all by its lonesome.  I have been piecing together strange meals all week.

So the plan this week is to plan.  I just posted a bunch of new recipes to Pinterest.  (Um, yeah, some of them weren’t quite diet friendly.  Those are for special occasions only, I promise.  Sorry to my Pinterest followers about the food-posting frenzy last night.)  I will pre-log my meals on My Fitness Pal.  I will track everything and stay within my allotted calories. And I will follow the plan that I have laid out for myself.

Good plan.

Entry filed under: A weighty matter.

In Sickness and In Health Good vibrations.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carey  |  January 13, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I enjoyed repinning some of those meals…I was cursing you while doing it hahaha So much Chinese food. I can’t wait to try the general tso hmmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


