Good morning, sunshine.

February 2, 2012 at 7:03 am Leave a comment

I want to be a morning person.  I really do.

I have aspirations of getting up early every morning, enjoying an hour or so of time to think and write and pray before my children start demanding my attention and energy.

I truly want to be someone who joyfully greets the possibility of each day, bounding out of bed with enthusiasm and determination and inspiration.

Truth is, I hate mornings.  I’ve always been a snoozer – you know, someone who hits the snooze button 12 times before finally dragging myself out of bed.  This is a good idea of what I’m like in the morning:

Cranky early morning

Oddly, I’m not a night owl, either.  By 10:30 every night I’m toast.  No, my sweet spot of the day is 9:00 a.m. – noon.  That’s when I’m the most productive and at my best mentally.

Every night, I say “tomorrow I’m going to get up early and get stuff done!” Then tomorrow rolls around and once again I hit the snooze button.

This morning, Ashley woke up crying at 6.  By the time I got her calmed down (she went back to sleep) I decided to stay up.  I Facebooked.  I mainlined a cup of coffee.  I wrote this blog post.  I finished some posts for the other blog I write for.  I cleaned out my email inbox and answered a few emails.

And now, at 7:00 a.m., I feel like I’ve gotten a good start on my day.

Problem is, now I just want to go back to sleep.

It’s gonna be a long day.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

My monthly reading list. What’s your ultimate goal?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


