She’s got her own style.

March 7, 2012 at 1:53 pm 2 comments

At about 8:30 last night, I found myself in a heated battle with the four-year-old.

The battleground?

Picture day at preschool.

Yes, today is picture day.  Individual and class pictures.  I called Alissa into her room so we could pick out her outfit.

I knew what I wanted her to wear.

She knew what she wanted to wear.

Let’s just say our choices were not the same.

I suggested this fine frock.

Dress #2

She deliberated for a moment, then said no.

I pulled out this fun little number.

dress #1

Rejected outright.

I pulled out two more dresses.  All wrong.  “I want to wear this,” she said, pulling out a strappy summer camisole and a polka dot skirt.  Both pink, of course.

“But, Alissa,” I said, “that shirt is for summer.  You can’t wear it for pictures tomorrow.”

Duh, Mommy,” she said. (DUH, MOMMY?  She’s 4, not 14, right?)  “I was going to wear this underneath it.”  She pulled out a long sleeve brown t-shirt.  “And I need leggings under my skirt.  Do I have any clean?  I don’t want my knees to get cold.”

I pouted.  And I pleaded.  Did she not understand it’s PICTURE DAY?  Couldn’t she just wear the pretty outfits I chose for her?

And in the middle of this, I realized…it’s PICTURE DAY.  And I want to have a picture of Alissa.  Not the Alissa I want her to be, or the one I imagine in my head, but the real Alissa.  Just. As. She. Is.   Burgeoning fashionista and all.

In the end, I relented.  This is what she put together:

Alissa picture day outfit

And I gotta say, she looks pretty good.  Pretty good, indeed.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

The trip of their young lives. An exciting new something starts for me tomorrow.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Denise  |  March 7, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    Just as she is indeed…. I’ve got photos with eyes closed, because that’s what he did when he smiles… I’ve got messed hair, because that’s just what they are. I’m so glad you cherish your girls.

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa  |  March 7, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Darling !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


