General ponderings and wonderings.

March 17, 2012 at 7:27 pm 2 comments

*Wichita just got a Chick-Fil-A and the resulting craze is astounding to me.  I have never been to Chick-Fil-A and I don’t understand the madness.  Why is everyone in such an uproar?  It’s just CHICKEN, right?

*We also got a Cabela’s this week.  (It’s been a big week in Doo-Dah.)  Some ridiculous number of people showed up for the opening day; I think I heard something like 3,000 people.  Okay, that statistic wasn’t taken from any factual journalistic reporting, but from a Facebook friend’s status update.  Again, I have never been to Cabela’s.  Don’t really know that I would want anything from Cabela’s.  Although my friend Cathy over at Laham Development – developers of the retail area where Cabela’s is located – was quoted in a business blog on the Wichita Eagle as saying: “If a camo bathing suit is on your list, you can find it there.”  Oh, Cathy, how did you know this was on my list of purchases for summer?

*I don’t understand the thing about green beer.  Yes, I know it’s St. Patrick’s Day.  Yes, I know it’s just food coloring that has temporarily turned the beer green.  What I don’t understand is how I’m supposed to overcome my psychological aversion to green beer?  Yes, green beer makes me nauseous.  Just the thought of drinking it makes me gag.  Which is surely a black mark against my very-Irish married last name.

*I also don’t understand the pinching thing.  I don’t have a stitch of green on today.  And really don’t care.  I didn’t even claim the “I’m wearing green underwear” dodge.  Maybe I’m just a holiday stick in the mud.

But I will say – hope you’re having a happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!  (See, I’m not such a stick in the mud after all.)

St. Patty's girls

Entry filed under: Life in general.

An exciting new something starts for me tomorrow. What fruits has your spirit produced?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aunt Dano  |  March 18, 2012 at 9:19 am

    I LOVE St. Patty’s Day! Not for the beer or the pinching, but to honor our Irish ancestors (and we do have some, Amy)! Any time we can just have fun with a holiday that doesn’t require presents or planning a big meal is one to celebrate, all we have to do is wear a certain color and pretend we’re Irish. Loosen up, Amy, let loose and wear a little green, make it fun for the girls and pretend for awhile. And always remember….Iloveyoumorethanfunnylookinglittlemenwithcrazyshoes!!! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Chase C  |  March 27, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Just to back you up Amy, here is a response from someone at Answers.com who supposedly lived in Ireland:

    “Pinching those not wearing green on St. Patrick’s Day is an American tradition, having really nothing to do with Ireland or St. Patrick Wrong. I have lived in Ireland. The truth is, Irish people think Americans are crazy. St. Patrick’s Day is not even remotely celebrated over there as heavily as it is in the US.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


