What fruits has your spirit produced?

March 29, 2012 at 5:37 am Leave a comment

Fruits of the Spirit

Amy’s note: About six months ago, I started a blog called Calm in the Chaos.  The blog didn’t take off, mostly because I didn’t give it any love and attention.  I had a few posts, however, that I thought were worth sharing, part of a series I started about the Fruits of the Spirit.  I’ll be reblogging some of those posts over the next few days.  

It was another stressful day.  My kids had woken up crabby, and had been picking at each other non-stop.  They wouldn’t share.  They wouldn’t listen.  They wouldn’t cooperate.  By 9:30 a.m. I was at the end of my rope.  Frustrated and fed up, I yelled at my four-year-old and two-year-old and put them both in timeout.

They were just being kids, kids who hadn’t slept well the night before.  They were sick of spending time with just each other.  Yet I lacked compassion for them.  I lacked patience.  I lost my self-control when I yelled.  I wasn’t feeling particularly gentle as I pulled them both to their respective spots for their timeouts.

I was fuming as I walked away from both of them, sitting in their spots and listening to them both cry.  The four-year-old was crying more because I was mad, because she had upset me and she is sensitive to people being mad.  The two-year-old was crying because her sister was crying.

The more they cried, the more it made my blood boil.  Because I don’t handle crying kids well.

I stood over the sink as they sat in timeout, washing dishes.  Through my fuming, God began to talk to my heart.

I was the one who needed an attitude check.

I was the one who was in the wrong.

You haven’t talked to me in a while, He said.  You haven’t spent any time with me.  And that’s why you’re losing it with them.

It was true.  I had neglected my personal time, choosing sleep over getting up and spending time in prayer.  I chose other, more “interesting” things to fill my time instead of spending time in my Bible.

And because I hadn’t submitted control over my life to God, I had lost all control.

God tells us what He will give us when we spend time with Him.  Galatians 5:22tells us:

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

Don’t we want to possess all these qualities as women?  How many times have we pursued the acquisition of these qualities by our own methods?  Yet God tells us that we can have these fruits, if only we let the Spirit come in.

Over the next few entries, I’ll be examining the fruits of the Spirit.  What do they look like?  How do they apply to our lives?  How do we achieve them?  It should be a fun series that will leave us thinking.

Entry filed under: Bible study, Fruits of the Spirit.

General ponderings and wonderings. Fruits of the Spirit: Love (For Our Spouses)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


